We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

Daniela`s at Leisure Isle Lodge
Ranked #43 of 164 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Edgemead, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Daniela's. Their food is sumptuous and the menu selection just right. Staff are also friendly and accommodating. Definitely will go back next time we're in Knysna. Worth a visit - or 10! Compliments to the chef.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    34
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good food but very poor service”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We arrived a little early for our table but were welcomed and were seated on the deck to wait. We ordered drinks and were given menus to browse whilst waiting. So far, so good. Other people started turning up and some were seated in the restaurant, others were waiting like us. Just as we started getting a bit twitchy as we were past our reservation time, we were shown to our table. There were probably about another five or six small tables occupied. They were a bit slow to take our order but we hoped things would improve. The starters turned up and were delicious. We then waited a while for our mains. When they eventually turned up, they were pretty good but the service descended into chaos after that. There were only two staff serving when we arrived. There seemed to be no proper front of house. The whole operation seemed very disorganised. Both staff were courteous but at around the time we got our mains one of them disappeared and our young waiter was left to manage alone. The couple sitting adjacent to us only got their starters as we were almost finished eating our mains, despite placing their order just shortly after us. We waited and waited and waited to order dessert but got fed up and eventually pinned the waiter down to get our bill. It is virtually unknown for me not to have dessert but frankly, I was past it by then.
Maybe they were having a bad night but this restaurant is not cheap and we expected better.
It is such a shame, as the setting is beautiful and we really liked the food, but it has put me off returning and I really feel unable to give a better TA rating on the basis of our experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelhappy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst meal ever”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Without doubt, the worst restaurant I have ever been too, awful food, terrible service cannot warn people enough not to go there, have read other reviews and cannot believe them, maybe the chef was away for us as no one with any training could produce food like that. My 11 year old could have made us a better supper

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our worst meal in South Africa and one of the worst ever!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Unbelievably bad in all respects. No GM in charge of the restaurant, just two overworked waiters to look after about 20 covers. Service terrible; we arrived at about 8.00 pm and waited until about 8.45 pm for our pre-dinner drinks to arrive, let alone any food. Very limited wine list, some items of which were not available. Food appalling; my fish curry reminded me of the chum used to attract attract sharks the previous day. We left after two courses taking two hours and even then, since they have no computer system and do everything by hand, it took about 10 mins to get the bill. There were seven of us, including three grandchildren - my street cred with them is now zero!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank PetermcgPeakDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly awful”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Still feel unwell from absolutely disgusting food, worst restaurant I have ever been to. Terrible service, dreadful atmosphere, don't ever go there

Helpful?
2 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daniela`s at Leisure Isle Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Daniela`s at Leisure Isle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing