We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abalone Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abalone Lodges
Ranked #71 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Enjoyed 3 nights here for our honeymoon! Rooms are not ridiculously big so if you plan to also do activities and not to only spend all day in your room this is truly a great place to stay! Spa bath is incredible- and all day access to barbecue and swimming pool facilities. Safe, friendly and very clean. Breakfasts delivered daily and well worth it!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cari-Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    34
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
56
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend in a semi detached lodge. Found the lodge to be clean, neat and well presented. All supplies for self catering available.
Loved the balcony, spent the majority of my time there reading, snacking, dozing etc...

The cottage is somewhat snug so would not recommend to anyone who needs lots of space.

Spa bath was excellent. Pool area nice as well.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WildOliveJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I wish I had paid attention to the all the reviews, not just the positive ones, before I booked so I could have at least gotten my expectations in line with reality. We stayed at Abalone lodges for one night on a road trip in November. It felt quite cramped and the room was boiling hot when we arrived in the afternoon since it faced the sun and the curtains had not been closed. The safe slammed shut after the lightest of touches. (There should be some kind of mechanism to keep it more securely open when not used.) The bathroom was quite nice with a spa bath in it and I do like the overall look of the lodges with their warm log cabin interior. My main complaint is that it felt cramped on the in- and outside and the lodges themselves are situated close together and in such a way that there is no real privacy if you want to go into the garden. The bed was comfortable enough. I didn't see air conditioning. I would definitely advise any prospective traveller to check into that if you are going during the hot summer months.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This was the cheapest accommodation of our trip to SA and was the most cramped. The semi detached chalets are quite small but adequate and have a balcony with stunning views. This was the only place where we were bothered by mosquito on our trip, but think that would be a problem anywhere in Knysna at this time of the year. There is no wi-fi but we were told that when booking. Not bad location and easy to find, cheap and cheerful would be how I would sum this place up.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank barbara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

It is a beautiful hotel with a very nice outdoor seating area and a great BBQ area, the rooms are also nice and cozy and great hosts. One should go to storms river national park for a full day which is not very far from the hotel (about 7 KMs)

Room Tip: Take a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitinjohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very cold and a very small wall mounted heater does the injustice for the cold night in Knysna. We were also not impressed given what we saw on the Internet. We had to book an alternative accomodation in order to enjoy our stay. I would definitely not recommend this lodge to anyone.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ramano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Warm reception on arrival. Facilities better than advertised. Very comfortable lodge with stunning views from the balconies. Jet bath in each en-suite! Close to amenities and attractions. Would definitey recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShafieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
7.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
3.1 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#15 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Bamboo the Guesthouse
#28 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#3 of 102 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#17 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#13 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalone Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone Lodges

Property: Abalone Lodges
Address: 20 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abalone Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 5 minutes from town centre and 4km from the Leisure Isle beach, you'll find Abalone Lodges. Not only does Abalone Lodges offer convenient location but also offers breathtaking views of the Estuary and Knysna Heads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Abalone Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing