We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite basic but ideal for what we wanted”
Review of Abalone Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abalone Lodges
Ranked #67 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The lodges are wooden, quite close together (compared to their promotional literature which makes them look more secluded) and fairly well equipped inside.It was ideal for what we wanted as we were able to self-cater after more than a week of staying in B&B establishments. On the downside, the lighting in the living room was terrible, we could barely see to read. The lights on either side of the bed didn't work either. We mentioned it and someone came out to look at them but they were never fixed and no one came back to tell us what they were doing about it. The heaters, attached to the wall in the living room and bedroom didn't really heat the space sufficiently. Location, in a quiet residential area overlooking the lagoon, was nice and Knysna, about 2 km away, is a lovely town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paula602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Abalone Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were recommended Abalone Lodges by friends in Knysna. We needed somewhere where me and my wife and our son,his wife and 2 young kids could all be together. Abalone performed the task admirably. We had basically 3 lodges all interconnected with great views over the lagoon from each of the 4 balconies and from the rooms. The layout and the facilities were all great and the whole place was very clean and tidy.

I had a bit of of a laugh with the notices asking us to try and save washing towels to conserve water when each lodge had a Jacuzzi bath big enough for a yacht to turnaround in! Plus the one shower room we shared (to save water) was tiny - I'm a big bloke and I had to open the shower room door to dry myself!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigPeteW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at how wonderful our room was. Well appointed, neat and very clean with breathtaking views from the balcony. We ate out for the 4 days we were there, but I have say that even the kitchenette was well kitted out. Thanks for a memorable stay, we will definitely be recommending Abalone Lodges to friends and family

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chel_b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Yes this place isn't a 5 star resort however I give Abalone Lodge 5 out of 5. When we arrived the lady at Reception was very helpful, she recommended restaurants and what to do on the Garden Route - our room was even upgraded for free.
The room we stayed in was delightful (Room 4 from memory), there was a large equipped kitchen, a lovely living area with a beautiful view of the lagoon over the pool. Upstairs was our hot tub and large bedroom which had a small balcony attached. The bedroom was equipped with a television. The property was well maintained with a beautiful garden out the back - our hot tub looked over the garden. The property was very secure with a password coded electric gate. It is a 5 minute drive to the Knysna waterfront, 7 minutes to Thessen islands and 10 minutes to Knysna Heads.
We honestly did not want to leave this beautiful property and if we had the time would have stayed much longer. We highly recommend Abalone Lodge as a great place to stay for those traveling the Garden Route.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a beautiful view of the pool and lagoon Make use of the hot tup - very relaxing Ask que...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kandy_hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

What a fantastic place this is, all the lodges are like ski chalets, complete with jacuzzi hot tubs and little kitchens. Very clean and tidy with good views. Would definitely recommend. Close by there are a couple of restaurants, stay away from 'Bosuns' very basic.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicky230201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had an excellent time at the Brenton-on-Sea chalets. Our wooden cabin had panoramic views from the balcony and was a few minutes walk to the beach. The spa bath was a great plus as were the clean and fresh facilities. We had a super romantic time there waking up to the sound and view of the ocean right from our beds! It was mostly private (more below) and super relaxed! The staff are also very helpful!

The facilities are semi-self catering (no stove) so be prepared to eat out quite a bit. Also, Brenton-on-Sea is a 20-minute drive from central Knysna, so plan your days well so that you don't spend most of your time on the road!

Downside: the ant problem is quite bad, needs serious fumigation. The spa bath has this sordid smell the first time you run it, probably from under-use. Quite a few of our lights and plugs weren't working at all. It gets quite chilly on cooler nights and there is no heater provided, so pack your own or pack warm. There wasn't enough toilet paper and there isn't an iron although an ironing board is provided. Lastly, although rather private, it is still possible to hear loud talking in the next door cabin - while not invasive it can be problematic.

Despite these downsides I don't consider them to withdraw from the overall experience and location of the cabin! It truly was an exceptional holiday, and one of our best! I recommend it for any couple looking to spend a few quiet nights together!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our stay at Abalone Lodge was pleasent and comfortable. We had a double Story unit and it was spaceious for 2 People. The kitchen was well equipped. From the description we eypected it closer to the Lagoon not in a Suburb.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#28 of 30 in Knysna
31 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
88 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#13 of 127 in Knysna
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#34 of 127 in Knysna
148 reviews
2.4 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 106 in Knysna
333 reviews
14.7 mi away
Pelican Lodge
Pelican Lodge
#3 of 12 in Sedgefield
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalone Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone Lodges

Address: 20 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £41 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abalone Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 5 minutes from town centre and 4km from the Leisure Isle beach, you'll find Abalone Lodges. Not only does Abalone Lodges offer convenient location but also offers breathtaking views of the Estuary and Knysna Heads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Abalone Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing