We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Magic”
Review of Oyster Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oyster Creek Lodge
Ranked #15 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The setting is pure magic, with this charming, wood cabin guest house perched on the tip of the point. Rooms vary in size from enormous to standard, but even the smallest room is charming and there are many sitting areas both indoors and out, so that the views and the bird life can be thoroughly enjoyed. Breakfast is abundantly full-English. Lots to do and see nearby, with a 10% discount coupon offered by the lodge. Almost too much to do, truth be told, as it would have been enough to sit and relax in this incredible setting. Great value. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Could be rented by a whole family and used for holiday reunions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Oyster Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

We loved having you stay and hope that soon we will see you again. Thank you so much for the lovely reveiw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

This lodge is out on a point in the bay, with wonderful views on all sides. The Manager is extremely helpful and they have wine and beer for sale. The bed was comfortable and the tub very nice. What could be better?

We had a very nice stay there. It is pretty far outside the town.

Room Tip: We were in the upper room which had a very low ceiling - a slanted roof. I bumped my head a couple o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blkdye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Oyster Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review. So sorry about bumping your head - we love the loft room so much it is very special but as you say is a bit low in places. So glad though that the views and beauty out weighed the bump on your head!. We hope to se you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Lodge was very comfortable and in a nice quiet location just out of Knysna which I think could have been quite noisy. Esther made us feel very welcome and the sitting area and large balcony gave the opportunity to chat to other guests about things to do in the area and places to avoid which was very helpful. Comfortable beds and a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Oyster Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you so much for the review. We are thrilled that you loved our little piece of heaven. We think it is the best location in Knysna, We would love to host you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Oyster Creek Lodge is in an excellent location overlooking the lagoon. The rooms are well appointed and the staff and owners are extremely helpful and friendly. We would have stayed longer if we had had the time.

Simon and Amanda. Sydney Australia

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Oyster Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We were amazed that you found the lodge and outside noise so bad, but sympathised that you are such a light sleeper and in need of a very special kind of hotel that is very sound proof. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in our beautiful Knysna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We arrived on a very wet & windy night after a long drive. The location was exquisite overlooking the lagoon. The room (luxury lodge) was large & comfortable and we looked forward to a good night's rest. However, the place is made of wood with no sound insulation whatsoever. There was a single room integrated into the corner of our bedroom, and we could hear every word of the occupant's phone call, and ALL of his bodily functions! Once disturbed we could hear the large lorries on the nearby N2, which went on all night - they were either braking down the hill, or revving to go up it. I am cursed with being a light sleeper, and this noise every 10 mins or so ruined my sleep.(I had e mailed ahead asking if the road noise was a problem - was told no) .We had booked for 5 nights, but in the morning said we really couldn't stay. The manager was very sympathetic, and even recommended another place. So OK if you are a deep sleeper, but otherwise no.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zorrobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Oyster Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your review. Oyster Creek Lodge is set back amongst the tall trees of the Point and right on the Knysna Lagoon. The soothing sound of the water and calm tranquillity of the Lodge make it a perfect place to come and relax .We have never received a complaint before that there has been road noise causing a disturbance. By your own admittance you are an extremely light sleeper so much so that it can cause huge problems. I recommend that your choice of establishment from now on be a Hotel - where you will always get a much better level of privacy. Oyster Creek Lodge is a wooden cabin, but we have rubber underlays and thick lush carpets therefor noise levels are kept to a bare minimum. It was lovely to meet you and We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Knysna and the garden route.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The location,the view,the hostess all of the highest quality! The room we stayed in had a big shower&big bath which was awesome coz we could wash up together. Knysna=Oyster creek lodge, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nombina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Oyster Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to host you at Oyster Creek Lodge, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

An excellent breakfast, very friendly guest lady, great view (lagune), nice to walk, possibility to use kitchen facilities
If you want to go early to bed, you have to take into account that there is Some noise from other guests (terrace outside)
Certainly a place you won't forget!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gerrit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Oyster Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you so much for your response. It is always so lovely to get such positive feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we sincerely hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
849 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
11.5 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 108 in Knysna
352 reviews
4.1 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#12 of 129 in Knysna
212 reviews
1.2 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Creek Lodge

Address: 1 Point Road | The Point, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £38 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Creek Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oyster Creek Lodge is strategically found nestled amongst the trees of the exclusive "The Point" suburb of South Africa's number one tourist destination Knysna. Located between Port Elizabeth and Cape Town, Knysna lies in the heart of South Africa's famous Garden Route and is the playground for international investors and Tourists from all over the world. Surrounded by the Knysna Lagoon, our 4 star accredited, superior accomodation boasts 360 degree views of the estuary.Operating as both a bed and breakfast and a self catering facility, the lodge consists of 5 bedrooms and one self-catering unit. All of the lodges rooms are lagoon-facing and open onto a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oyster Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing