We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HONEYMOON EVER!”
Review of Oyster Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oyster Creek Lodge
Ranked #12 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at Oyster Creek Lodge for our honeymoon in June 2014 and where absolutely spoiled. Esther and her staff where just amazing! The friendliness and helpfulness of everyone was very comforting since customer service these days are really non existent in some places. Our honeymoon suite was perfect.. and we felt so at home. The special touch of wine and chocolates made us feel very special - THANX Esther!!!!! We will most definitely go back. We will send some pics soon.....Francois and Melissa Roodt

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite... nice view of the lagoon and amazing bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Oyster Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thank you so much for the review and 5 stars. We are thrilled you enjoyed your Honeymoon with us we wold love to see you back here soon - maybe for your first anniversary?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have stayed at Oyster Creek lodge on a number of occasions over the past few years, since Clive and Esther Boyes took on the management thereof. It is very lovely. The accommodation is great but their hospitality, friendliness and kindness even better. Home from home

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Geraldine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Oyster Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

We thinks it is stunning too ............. thank you for the review we are thrilled that you had a wonderful time again with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Spent two nights at Oyster Creek Lodge. Our room was enormous from which we enjoyed exquisite views of the lagoon. Heard and saw fish eagles soaring in the sky which was very magical. The location is so picturesque and the tranquility of the lagoon is contagious - you feel yourself unwinding and becoming calm and relaxed. Esther was very welcoming and brekkies with other guests all seated around the dining room table were wonderful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank happy_vegemite_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Oyster Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thank you for your review and 5 stars, we are so happy that you enjoyed our little lodge - we hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Esther and her team are fantastic hosts, friendly and efficient. Great breakfast. Awesome setting with great views of the lagoon. Slightly out of the town, which we enjoyed.
Only negative - we had the small room off the hallway which was a bit noisy - next time we will know to book further in advance to get one of the rooms that lead onto the deck.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kendall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Oyster Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so thrilled that you loved your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We arrived a little early at Oyster Creek and our host Esther was very accommodating. Loved the location with the absolutely stunning view and the breakfast was awesome. The accommodation is a wood cabin so expect to hear noise with other guests coming and going. We stayed in the loft which had an amazing view day and night over the lagoon. Unfortunately with the rafters there is very little room to manoeuvre. Both hubby and I bumped out heads a couple of times including getting out of the bath. I had to climb over hubby to get into my side of the bed and out every morning as there is no room to walk on the other side without fear of hitting your head. Our blanket was full of hair and could have done with a wash. The early breakfast team in the kitchen will wake you up pre-dawn as will the smell of bacon. The furniture is somewhat out-dated and could do with a revamp. Having said all that we did enjoy the most amazing views. Would I stay in the loft again - definitely NO. Would we stay at Oyster again, for the money we spent only after a revamp.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeLeeBee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Oyster Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review, we are so happy that you loved our views and little lodge, thank you for your positive feedback as well as constructive criticism. We shall certainly address the concerns and implement a few changes. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Nice and clean place, frindly hosts, great setting.
Wooden house with "not 100% silent walls" but not a downside.
Close to Knysna, easy to spot and find.
All required services (fridge + supplies, WLAN, breakfast, kitchen, ...) functional and in place.
Definitively worth considering for another stay on occasion.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Oyster Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Marc , thank you for you review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope that as per your review we will see you again soon at Oyster Creek Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Rustic decor, well located, delightful accommodation and ambiance, value for money, ambiance - just delightful overall, could have stayed longer and a MUST return establishment! Loved the setting, balconies and views! Excellent breakfast and welcoming host.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marlumus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Oyster Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

What a lovely review thank you, we are so glad that you had such a amazing time with us, and we so hope we will see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.6 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 107 in Knysna
338 reviews
4.1 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#15 of 127 in Knysna
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hide Away Guest House
Hide Away Guest House
#10 of 127 in Knysna
398 reviews
1.2 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
649 reviews
11.5 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Creek Lodge

Address: 1 Point Road | The Point, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £38 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Creek Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oyster Creek Lodge is strategically found nestled amongst the trees of the exclusive "The Point" suburb of South Africa's number one tourist destination Knysna. Located between Port Elizabeth and Cape Town, Knysna lies in the heart of South Africa's famous Garden Route and is the playground for international investors and Tourists from all over the world. Surrounded by the Knysna Lagoon, our 4 star accredited, superior accomodation boasts 360 degree views of the estuary.Operating as both a bed and breakfast and a self catering facility, the lodge consists of 5 bedrooms and one self-catering unit. All of the lodges rooms are lagoon-facing and open onto a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oyster Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing