We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice host!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knysna Herons Guest House
Ranked #41 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very nice host!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Although we had the small appartment in the souterrain with no views and only a little space to move inside we enjoyed our stay here very much! the host was very friendly, he even organized a dinner reservation for us which was not easy at Christmas!
Also the breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fitinmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    45
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
47
56
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We really apreciated our stay at Knysna Herons.

The guest house is well located, very clean and peaceful.

Frederick, Knysna Herons´ owner is an amazing person! Very helpful, funny and friendly, made our stay in an unforgettable experience.

We recomend this guest house for everyone who wants to feel at home in Knysna.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank LigiaLr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We spent three nights in this guesthouse in the Oyster Catcher Room. As noted by the other reviewers, the owner Fredrick is very warm, welcoming and provides a lot of information on what to do/where to eat. The room was spacious, beds comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. Great value for money !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Sajal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Herons Guest House is a great place to stay in Knysna! It is very quite, clean, great breakfast and Frederic gives great advice on what you can do in the area and is really friendly and helpful. Thank you :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopefield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Herons Guest House. Frederick and his team were very accommodating when we arrived a bit earlier. The rooms were clean and neat. We felt very welcome and at ease. They served a delicious breakfast. The garden surrounding the guest house is beautiful and a haven during our busy weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Eugenie-lien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muizenberg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We needed a place for 3 good friends to stay over the Oyster Festival and Knysna Rotary MTB race. Frederick and his team provided a comfortable and peaceful environment for us that was excellent value-for-money. The breakfasts were enjoyed by all and we appreciated the flexibility for the riders!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Let me start of by saying what an awesome holiday and we will sure be back next year! Besides being in beautiful and friendly Knysna with so many fun and delicious things to experience over the Knysna Oyster Festival (well done Knysna Tourism and all involved), only a stones through away, we also were very fortunate to have been hosted by Frederic at Knysna Herons. We arrived late after a very long drive in the dark, and were welcomed with a huge smile, and quickly educated on our new home for 9 nights…which fortunately for us was lovely and toasty warm, thank goodness that Frederic had put the wall heater on earlier, knowing that we would arrive on a very chilly evening. The following morning we got to start our day with a delicious, beautifully presented and very filling breakfast and we were treated to this for the duration of our stay. We had a lovely room with great space to fit all our stuff for 9 days, including our gear for our events. It was brilliant that our shower never ever seemed to run out of good pressured hot water, even better than our shower at home! Every day our rooms were serviced just the way we’d expect, and a new evening on a comfy and crisp bed would start. Frederic was a wonderful host, and would always show an interest in the day that lay ahead for us, offering us advice. From offering us the use of his canoe, to spraying down our car (that the birds had attached…lol), to offering us different breakfast combinations to keep it interesting over our long stay or to accommodate our early morning events, Frederic was ready with a genuine and huge smile to make our stay more amazing! We loved that we could just step out of our room directly onto our mini deck stoep and be outside to just hop in the car, or that we had an early morning option via the guesthouse to avoid the chills on the way to breakfast. Although we had beautiful views of the lush vegetation from our door/ window, we also felt very safe with the surrounding security beams, and the security gate (pedestrian and car option) was very practical, especially seen as we were continuously in and out the premises, due to events and outings. Through our morning chats we got to learn a bit about Frederic, whom is a very interesting being who has done and seen and experienced more than many people can say they have in a lifetime, a natural host, a genuinely friendly soul, whom made us feel right at home in Knysna. We will definitely be back!…I unfortunately ran out of space..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.1 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#16 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#14 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
3.2 mi away
Badger's Lodge
Badger's Lodge
#33 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#33 of 102 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#13 of 126 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knysna Manor House
Knysna Manor House
#45 of 126 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Herons Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Herons Guest House

Property: Knysna Herons Guest House
Address: 11 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Herons Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Herons Guest House is Home Away from Home, We have a sparkling pool with stunning views from the breakfast patio of the Knysna Heads and the Knysna Lagoon. We have all en-suite rooms and two self/family catering room. All our rooms have WIFI, Satellite (DSTV), Tea/Coffee Trays, and all with there own private entrances into the surrounding gardens. 4 of our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning units. We can arrange almost anything you require from the comfort of the Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Knysna Herons Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing