We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knysna Herons Guest House
Ranked #39 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The guest house was well situated and safe. Heaters in the room are good to have during winter time !
Tv and internet working perfectly
There is possibility of breakfast there but did not have time to try it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    46
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
47
57
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Good location, warm and helpful owner who pointed us in the right direction, great breakfast. You will need a car as a little out of town but has secure parking and in a nice area of town with secure parking. Head up to the heads for sunset and a hilly walk around circles in the forest

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Host and owner was very friendly and helpfull, we really had a great time. Breakfast was serve with a smile, rooms were always clean and neat. Safe and secure parking, and only a short drive to most atractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Hendrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A good choice for a first visit to Knysna. Clean but small pool. Breakfasts enormous. Host genial and helpful. An excellent base from which to explore this part of the Garden Route. Amazing value for money!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Traveller2011Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We chose Knysna as a recommended stop on the Garden Route - and how right this was. The welcome and information from Frederick was great and we made the most of our short stay. The pool was great for a quick dip and relax in the sunshine. Dinner recommendation ticked all the boxes and an excellent breakfast was served before we had to leave. Thanks!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Claire V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

You feel as comfortable as you do in your own home swimming pool and rooms are very clean, rooms only need the air conditioning best family holiday ever, Frederick is very friendly and helpful I recommend Knysna Herons Guest House, Knysna is a beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent Muzi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My friend and I stayed in this nice guesthouse for one night. We moved into the "Guinea Fowl Room". It was comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was pretty small, but this wasn't a problem. You can also find a little swimming pool with clean water.
Frederik, the host, was very friendly and helpful. After a quiet night in the big bed Frederik fixed an English breakfast, which was delicious.
Again, he was very attentive.

Result: We only can recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: Just in case you would like to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening: Ask Frederik.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.1 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#16 of 126 in Knysna
197 reviews
1.7 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#33 of 105 in Knysna
218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
AestAs Bed & Breakfast
AestAs Bed & Breakfast
#50 of 126 in Knysna
108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#23 of 126 in Knysna
194 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Bamboo the Guesthouse
#30 of 126 in Knysna
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Herons Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Herons Guest House

Property: Knysna Herons Guest House
Address: 11 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Herons Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Herons Guest House is Home Away from Home, We have a sparkling pool with stunning views from the breakfast patio of the Knysna Heads and the Knysna Lagoon. We have all en-suite rooms and two self/family catering room. All our rooms have WIFI, Satellite (DSTV), Tea/Coffee Trays, and all with there own private entrances into the surrounding gardens. 4 of our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning units. We can arrange almost anything you require from the comfort of the Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Knysna Herons Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing