We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay at Garden Route”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Double Dutch B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Double Dutch B & B
Ranked #1 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Best place to stay at Garden Route”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We spent appr. 3 weeks in South Africa starting from Cape Town.
First a few days in Cape Town and then along Garden Route towards Port Elisabeth.
We found Double Dutch by a coincidence looking into a very informative brochure called Porfolio.
And what a place !
Two nice girls running a wonderful B&B overlooking the lagoon of Knysna.
It just can´t be better !
We intended to stay there for 1 night but it ended up to 4 nights.
We we would like stay longer but the return flight was already booked.
Nathalie and Kate made us feel so comfortable and we met very nice people from England , Germany and Sweden.
If you ever go to Knysna - don´t miss Double Dutch.
You will just love it.
Lots of huges to both of you from both of us.
Nils and Kristina

Room Tip: Large and sunny rooms with a wonderful overlooking viev of the Knysna lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    31
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
88
453
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harmelen, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We had a perfect stay at the Double Dutch(first week 2012). Nathalie and Klaske (that´s what her real name is in Dutch) were a perfect host arranging dinner reservations (Olive Tree is a must) and serving a wonderfull breakfast with a amazing view over the lagoon. Rooms are spacious, very colourfull and stylish. Our rooms (suites) had also view over the lagoon.

If you go to Knysna just go to the Double Dutch. Hugs are included!
The "van Kooten Party"

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyrill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed there in January. Have to say I regularly travel on business and stay at many 4* hotels and my experience at Double Dutch was better than most hotels I have stayed in. The rooms are modern, fresh, well equipped and very comfortable.

The service is out of this world Nathalie and Kate really go out of their way to look after you. They give great advice and a excellent breakfast every day. The views are spectacular and the location is perfect for exploring the garden route.

Would recommend this place without any hesitation.

Javed and Shabnam.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with the view of the lagoona, they tend to be cooler since have some shade and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jav333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed in DD on Feb. 1. The weather was a bit rainy but nevertheless we had a perfect stay. Kate and Nathalie are very friendly and will try to make you as happy as possible. The site is perfectly kept and the rooms are big and colourful. Just go there! Regards, Peter and Jolanda.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvwylick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We got the name of this nice B&B from our previous B&B (Classic View, Dana Bay) and we were welcomed by a enthusiastic Dutch host. While you have your nice breakfast you have a great view over the lagoon. The room is spacious, it has a kings-size bed and it also has.... the best shower I'd ever had experienced in the last two years! You can park your car within the ground of the B&B so save behind a fence. The hosts were very helpful to show us some nice "sidedishes" on our (short) garden tour. A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magerekok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this B & B - the girls made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble - the rooms and the view were stunning we would highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zeist
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Double Dutch with the beautifil view and nice swimming pool. Nathalie and Kate were very friendly and helpful with finding a place at a restaurant during the very busy New Year's weekend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maaihans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
0.9 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.0 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Lodge
Candlewood Lodge
#2 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Dutch B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Dutch B & B

Property: Double Dutch B & B
Address: 58 Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Double Dutch B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double Dutch has a beautiful luxurious colonial bed and breakfast, guesthouse accommodation in Knysna with magnificent panoramic views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Our exclusive accommodation in colonial style provides you with: Bathroom En-suite, TV/DSTV, radio, intercom, safe, fridge, extra long double king sized beds, hairdryer, make up mirror, coffee/tea facilities, underfloor heating in the bathroom, personalized bathroom amenities and a comfortable furnished relaxing area in which you experience the colonial atmosphere of Double Dutch. Most of the exclusive guest suites and stylish rooms have a spacious private veranda with spectacular views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Guests also have the use of our comfortable guest lounge decorated in colonial style, with a fireplace. Our guests can also relax at our swimming pool with sundeck and lounge chairs and a special terrace in our extended, cultivated garden. All our suites and rooms have their own secure free parking space on the property. Turn down service is offered in the evening once the guests have departed for dinner. Double Dutch welcomes children of 12 years and older. Double Dutch is close to the waterfront and a mere 5 minutes walk from the center of Knysna's central business district, where you will find various local restaurants, shopping malls, African arts and crafts. Double Dutch is German, Dutch and English speaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Double Dutch B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing