We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay !”
Review of Double Dutch B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Double Dutch B & B
Ranked #2 of 130 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This guest house is on the top of our list ! We enjoyed a friendly welcome by 2 ladies dedicated to hospitality. Rooms, or rather studios, are of great luxury standard, luxury bathroom, all nicely decorated. Breakfast is an experience overlooking Knysna bay. Kate and Nathalie have good knowledge of SA and give usefull advice for trips and good places to eat, also beyond the direct surroundings of Knysna; beach walk and sunset in Brenton, "The Heads", there is enough to do for a few days ! We also enjoyed great Golf at Pezula for which K+N will arrange your tee time and clubs.....(ask for the special ones from "Kevin", your handicap will improve drastically !)

Room Tip: we had the studio at the end, that had a good view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnestSri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2013

The directions to the B&B are very accurate, but the entrance to the property still comes as a surprise as you drive up the quite steep hill. The Double Dutch is wonderful place to stay in a great seaside town. Our room was large and comfortable, and the very large bed meant that we had undisturbed nights. Outside of the room is a little terrace area which is good to watch the activity on the lagoon. The pool area is perfect for sunbathing and the pool is good for keeping cooler. Breakfast is cooked for guests to order. Kate and Nathalie are tremendous hosts, impressive with their knowledge of the area, and also their attention to detail to maximise the likelihood of a perfect stay for their guests.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blot57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed one day in this B&B and Knysna, for both far too short! Our welcome by Kate and Nathalie was like meeting friends. They run a beautiful B&B, excellent location and perfect facilities. The breakfast is very good, furthermore they are full of good ideas on what to do in and around Knysna and really like to help you organize it. Kate and Nathalie thanks again for the hospitality and wonderful stay we had!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GijsMBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Double Dutch is a lovely B&B with great views of the Knysna lagoon and the heads. It's a 5 minute ride away from the main road with most of the restaurants. The B&B is very nice and well maintained. The rooms are nice though a bit on the smaller side and dont have an air conditioner though we didn't need it during the night. Kate and Natalie were very helpful and guided us around the place. The breakfast was also nice. Would stay here again if we travel to Knysna

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Natarajan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights with two kids an would have stayed longer. Definitely one of the very best b&b's we have ever stayed in. We stayed in the pelican room which had an amazing view of the lagoon/bay. Delicious breakfast and very friendly owners whom took their time to explain the sites and helped with accommodation for the next leg of the trip. Soraya Marius

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Set in best neighborhood of Knysna amid luxurious tropical plants with a great view of the bay and the HEADS!
The hosts are charming friendly and ready to advise you if you want. The rooms are clean [albeit a bit small] and comfi. The pool is place especially if you find the ocean too cold.
There is a real sense of home and trust. Location is perfect.
We will return.
CIAO

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

A wonderful place to stay, with magnificent view on the lagoon, from the dining room as well as from most rooms. Maybe not so suited for people having problems walking. It is built on a hill, which guarantees the views, but which implies as well some climbing and descending to get to the rooms.
We had a very warm welcome and a nice chat with the owners, who were always friendly and helpful. Tx Kate and Nathalie!
The room are modern, cosy, clean.
So nothing but thumbs up for this place and IF I have the chance to go back to South Africa, I will definitely go back to the Double Dutch

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms at the top of the hill. The best views guaranteed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peach1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Lodge
Candlewood Lodge
#1 of 130 in Knysna
714 reviews
12.6 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Alexander Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Cambalala
Cambalala
#5 of 130 in Knysna
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#8 of 130 in Knysna
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Dutch B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Dutch B & B

Address: 58 Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £87 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Double Dutch B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double Dutch has a beautiful luxurious colonial bed and breakfast, guesthouse accommodation in Knysna with magnificent panoramic views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Our exclusive accommodation in colonial style provides you with: Bathroom En-suite, TV/DSTV, radio, intercom, safe, fridge, extra long double king sized beds, hairdryer, make up mirror, coffee/tea facilities, underfloor heating in the bathroom, personalized bathroom amenities and a comfortable furnished relaxing area in which you experience the colonial atmosphere of Double Dutch. Most of the exclusive guest suites and stylish rooms have a spacious private veranda with spectacular views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Guests also have the use of our comfortable guest lounge decorated in colonial style, with a fireplace. Our guests can also relax at our swimming pool with sundeck and lounge chairs and a special terrace in our extended, cultivated garden. All our suites and rooms have their own secure free parking space on the property. Turn down service is offered in the evening once the guests have departed for dinner. Double Dutch welcomes children of 12 years and older. Double Dutch is close to the waterfront and a mere 5 minutes walk from the center of Knysna's central business district, where you will find various local restaurants, shopping malls, African arts and crafts. Double Dutch is German, Dutch and English speaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Double Dutch B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing