We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Double good place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Double Dutch B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Double Dutch B & B
Ranked #1 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Double good place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Managing the place two very nice girls. Thay give us good advice about everything! The room is very nice and comfortable. The Breakfast was very good!
We will definitely go back to there in the future
We recommend the place wholeheartedly!!
Tal and avivit

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tal Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    30
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
88
443
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

What a stunning place with a marvellous view and two lovely and most charming hostesses who make you feel at home straight away. And they even switch into fluent German when you arrive on their doorstep. We got all the information we needed to find our way through Knysna and to the lovely restaurants at the waterfront. We even had a safe ride home at night with the most interesting taxi driver who was recommended by Kate. We surely will return one day and stay a bit longer.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Fantastic view, best service, great breakfast! Nathalie and Kate are super helpful and friendly!! The DoubleDutch is for sure among the best place where to stay in Knysna. You can reach the waterfront or the main streets even by foot in 10-15 minutes, and enjoy the stay in a nice spot, slightly more elevated than the city, offering a beautiful view over the lagoon.
The private space in front of the rooms with a view, is a great plus that I would recommend to anyone, who like to enjoy a nice wine at sunset in complete relax!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoDoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Arriving to the gates of Double Dutch and being greeted by the two most friendliest ladies, Nathalie and Kate, we knew we had booked a great place to stay. From the moment we arrived, there was nothing that Nathalie and Kate would not help you with or offer to do for you such as reservations, tips, directions - everything!

The view is the best in Knysna, looking across the lagoon and in the mornings from the pool or breakfast room, it was easy to see why they had decided to set up and stay here. It really made us want to!

We stayed for 2 nights in the Albatross room. The painting of the bird in the room really does look as nice as in the pics on the site. The room was just lovely. Really comfy beds, clean and really spacious. The decking with private table and chairs for a glass of wine and relaxation whilst watching the sunset was divine. Breakfast was varied with very good cold options of cereal, seasonal fruits, yoghurt, meats, bread and cheese or you could order from the very good hot options (the waffles with the different type of syrups for instance was a winner!).

We hope we are lucky enough to return to South Africa in the future and if we do, we will definitely check in at Double Dutch. It would be a crime to miss it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickandBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

From the moment the friendly voice answered the buzzer until the moment we left, we truly felt like valuable guests at Double Dutch. Nathalie and Kate offered us the warmest welcome to Knysna... full of great service, incredible recommendations, lovely smiles and that extra special touch.

A great house, with a great breakfast... but it's the hosts that make this place so spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3triple9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We travelled from Cape Town all along the Garden Route towards Port Elizabeth and booked to stay in Double Dutch for 4 nights. We were greeted by both Kate and Nathalie who were fantastic and guided us and directed us for everything that we wanted to do. Unfortunately our room was a twin room on arrival (not ideal as we had told them we were on our Honeymoon) but this was quickly rectified and no distress caused. Each evening Kate or Nathalie booked us dinner at the local restaurants, The Olive Tree being our favourite which was saved until our last night at their recommendation - it was amazing! They also told us the following days forecast and what our best options were. We had a fabulous day on Brenton-on-Sea beach when it was hot, and went shopping when it was raining. We also visited Tsitsikamma National Park, Birds of Eden and Monkeyland which are all relatively close.

The view from our room over the lagoon was amazing and room which was kept perfectly clean with drinks and snacks provided. There is an "honesty bar" in the evenings where people can meet other guests but there weren't many other guests there during our stay and no one appeared to make use of it. Great idea though. The breakfasts were fantastic - we even tried Delicious Monster (Monstera Deliciouso) fresh from the garden and freshly baked nut bread which were both absolutely gorgeous!

Kate and Nathalie were fantastic hosts - they made sure that we had a wonderful time. We will definitely consider going again when/if we go back to South Africa.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedavis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schipluiden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Besides the beautiful rooms and stunning views at Double Dutch B&B, nothing is to much trouble for Nathalie and Kate. When one of us became seriously ill during our planned one night stay and we urgently had to go to hospital in the middle of the night, Nathalie and Kate were there to help us with everything.
They contacted our travel agent before we even could and arranged for us to stay longer at Double Dutch even though it was a fully booked weekend!!! The cincere interest of these two ladies is heartwarming and made us feel completely welcome.
They also have a lot of tips for sightseeing the area, great breakfast and a wonderful flair in making anyone feel at home on holidays. It would be a shame to miss out on Double Dutch B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eline & Jan & S... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
5.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.9 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Lodge
Candlewood Lodge
#2 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambalala
Cambalala
#4 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Dutch B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Dutch B & B

Property: Double Dutch B & B
Address: 58 Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Double Dutch B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double Dutch has a beautiful luxurious colonial bed and breakfast, guesthouse accommodation in Knysna with magnificent panoramic views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Our exclusive accommodation in colonial style provides you with: Bathroom En-suite, TV/DSTV, radio, intercom, safe, fridge, extra long double king sized beds, hairdryer, make up mirror, coffee/tea facilities, underfloor heating in the bathroom, personalized bathroom amenities and a comfortable furnished relaxing area in which you experience the colonial atmosphere of Double Dutch. Most of the exclusive guest suites and stylish rooms have a spacious private veranda with spectacular views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Guests also have the use of our comfortable guest lounge decorated in colonial style, with a fireplace. Our guests can also relax at our swimming pool with sundeck and lounge chairs and a special terrace to have a private barbecue in our extended, cultivated garden. All our suites and rooms have their own secure free parking space on the property. Turn down service is offered in the evening once the guests have departed for dinner. Double Dutch welcomes children of 12 years and older. Double Dutch is close to the waterfront and a mere 5 minutes walk from the center of Knysna's central business district, where you will find various local restaurants, shopping malls, African arts and crafts. Double Dutch is German, Dutch and English speaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Double Dutch B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing