We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we would have booked for 2 nights!!”
Review of Double Dutch B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Double Dutch B & B
Ranked #1 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wish we would have booked for 2 nights!!”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Hindsight is 20/20...this place is amazing! I only wish I had planned 2 nights instead of just one for our return trip toward Cape Town. Besides the awesome view, Nathalie and Kate are the best part! They were so friendly upon arrival and were most accommodating on getting us a Friday night dinner booking late in the day (we forgot to ask ahead!). The B&B itself is simply lovely with magnificent views over the bay. We stayed in the top far right room, when you are overlooking the bay. It was just perfect. Don't hesitate making a booking here. I only wish we'd had more time!! Thanks for your hospitality, ladies!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hnymnr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    31
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
90
461
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We were looking forward to visiting Knysna, and Double Dutch guesthouse made it extra special.
Kate and Nathalie are so lovely, warm and friendly. The house and gardens are beautiful. Views are stunning. We could find no faults, room and breakfast were great.
And the personal service in restaurant booking, and taxi service, ( thanks Ken) were much appreciated.
Thank you again Double Dutch.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCAnderson762915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed at double dutch in November for a couple of nights and it was somewhere where we certainly recommend....Kate & Nathalie are wonderful hosts they have fantastic knowledge of the surrounding area and were really helpful when it came to recommending and booking restaurants. We stayed in the Pelican room and the views over Knysna Lagoon were amazing.
We stayed in several B & B whilst we travelling the garden route but I can honestly say Double Dutch was one of our favourites.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We fell in love with Knysna which was definitely influenced by a wonderful four nights at DD with Nathalie and Kate. It has all been said already but they are wonderful hosts. We clicked with their fantastic sense of humour - bet they are awesome fun on a night out! The vaguest discussion about HP sauce one day and grapefruit juice the next resulted in both appearing on the breakfast table - unbeatable customer service. The design of the rooms cannot be faulted. I honestly cannot think of one thing to improve the place, they have thought of everything.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank barneypalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at the Double Dutch for 3 nights and we could not have asked for more. The two Dutch ladies that run it are so friendly and helpful. Not only were they always available to recommended a restaurant or activity but also to reserve the table or arrange and book the activity.

The breakfast was great; a choice of all the usual and eggs made exactly to your specification. The accommodate is set over two buildings on a hillside. A nice view from our room and the interior of the room was clean and spacious. Nothing to fault there.

The only criticism, which was not even an issue for us, was that because our room was on the upper of the two buildings (with better views) we had to carry our bags up a set or stairs. Having said this the owners offered to help and also informed us that there were plans for lift to be installed.

The two owners really provide the personal touch. I would definitely stay at the Double Dutch again the next time I visit Knysna! Thank you.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajay6911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

The Double Dutch B&B is certainly one of the best experiences we have had on our trip along the Garden Route. The Knysna lagune is an amazing landscape scenery and from the Double Dutch the views of it are simply breathtaking. The atmosphere of the guest house is very lively, but relaxed and the surroundings are very beautiful and charming. The rooms are cosy and the breakfast room has an outstanding view. But what is best about the Double Dutch is their double Dutch team - Kate & Nathalie. Both have been there with attention and suggestions making sure that we not only enjoy the guest house, but also Knysna with all it has to offer. Not sure when we will be back to SA, but Knysna and the Double Dutch will be part of our travel plans.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J4ZZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Managing the place two very nice girls. Thay give us good advice about everything! The room is very nice and comfortable. The Breakfast was very good!
We will definitely go back to there in the future
We recommend the place wholeheartedly!!
Tal and avivit

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tal Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Lodge
Candlewood Lodge
#2 of 126 in Knysna
613 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 126 in Knysna
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambalala
Cambalala
#5 of 126 in Knysna
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Dutch B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Dutch B & B

Property: Double Dutch B & B
Address: 58 Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Double Dutch B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double Dutch has a beautiful luxurious colonial bed and breakfast, guesthouse accommodation in Knysna with magnificent panoramic views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Our exclusive accommodation in colonial style provides you with: Bathroom En-suite, TV/DSTV, radio, intercom, safe, fridge, extra long double king sized beds, hairdryer, make up mirror, coffee/tea facilities, underfloor heating in the bathroom, personalized bathroom amenities and a comfortable furnished relaxing area in which you experience the colonial atmosphere of Double Dutch. Most of the exclusive guest suites and stylish rooms have a spacious private veranda with spectacular views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Guests also have the use of our comfortable guest lounge decorated in colonial style, with a fireplace. Our guests can also relax at our swimming pool with sundeck and lounge chairs and a special terrace in our extended, cultivated garden. All our suites and rooms have their own secure free parking space on the property. Turn down service is offered in the evening once the guests have departed for dinner. Double Dutch welcomes children of 12 years and older. Double Dutch is close to the waterfront and a mere 5 minutes walk from the center of Knysna's central business district, where you will find various local restaurants, shopping malls, African arts and crafts. Double Dutch is German, Dutch and English speaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Double Dutch B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing