We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Double Dutch!”
Review of Double Dutch B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Double Dutch B & B
Ranked #1 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was one of our favorite accommodations during our vacation in South Africa. Kate and Nathalie are very welcoming! They totally rebuilt this B&B about five years ago, and so the accommodations are new and first class. The shower and bathroom were spacious and modern, the beds are very comfortable, and the decor is beautiful. The B&B has a lovely view of the bay in Knysna. Kate and Nathalie have paid attention to EVERY detail, with intricate landscaping, a lovely pool with lounge chairs, a beautiful common area, a breakfast with fresh fruit salad and eggs and many more choices, and even cold water and snacks in the room. They gave us great advice about what to see and where to eat in Knysna and would always stop to say hello when they saw us. We hated to leave! In a town that has much B&B competition, Double Dutch deserves a #1 rating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 713US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

If you want to spend some time in Knysna you must stay at Double Dutch. We had a really nice room and a great breakfast with a view on the lagoon. What is even more, Kate and Natalie are excellent, very attentive and helpful hosts that provide for a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, provide lots of tips and help in organizing things to do. We can definitely recommend this place!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Double Dutch was one of the highlights of our trip! It is a luxurious BnB with two great hosts! The view from the breakfast area and the pool deck is breathtaking. Breakfast is very good and you can easily walk to the city center of Kmysna and the Waterfront within 10 minutes.

Room Tip: We had the Flamingo room, from which you can directly enter the pool area. It is a very nice room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABCDE87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

What a fantastic welcome, and what a wonderful setting with lovely gardens. Our room was super and everything was spotless. Breakfast superb and we are looking forward to returning. Thank you Kate and Nathalie.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Five of us stayed in Double Dutch in January this year. Kate and Nathalie are wonderful hosts! They run a spotless B&B with a beautiful view over the lagoon. The beds in the generous sized rooms are super comfortable and we all had great sleeps which we very much needed after our long drive and the en-suites had nice big showers. Breakfast is really good too with different freshly baked breads each day, waffles, fresh fruit as well as a fried breakfast if you wish as well. Kate and Nathalie so friendly and chatty and really make you feel at home and well looked after. They are full of useful information about Knysna and the surrounding area and also gave us some great restaurant recommendations. We booked Double Dutch because of the reviews we read on Trip Advisor and I have to agree with all of them - this is the place to stay in Knysna and if we ever visit again, we will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eavan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I were delighted with DD. Nathalie and Kate were so attentive and helpful - booking excellent restaurants and arranging a taxi for us. Our room was superb and attention to detail was excellent. The whole area and gardens are beautifully designed with great style. We would love to have stayed longer.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank norwichlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Very welcoming hosts made for a fantastic start to our stay at Double Dutch. We soon had meals booked at restaurants (all of which were excellent) and suggestions for places to visit the following day. We will certainly return if we visit this area again and recommend Double Dutch unreservedly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jab155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.7 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 127 in Knysna
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Lodge
Candlewood Lodge
#2 of 127 in Knysna
639 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 127 in Knysna
220 reviews
3.1 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#11 of 127 in Knysna
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Dutch B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Dutch B & B

Address: 58 Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £78 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Double Dutch B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double Dutch has a beautiful luxurious colonial bed and breakfast, guesthouse accommodation in Knysna with magnificent panoramic views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Our exclusive accommodation in colonial style provides you with: Bathroom En-suite, TV/DSTV, radio, intercom, safe, fridge, extra long double king sized beds, hairdryer, make up mirror, coffee/tea facilities, underfloor heating in the bathroom, personalized bathroom amenities and a comfortable furnished relaxing area in which you experience the colonial atmosphere of Double Dutch. Most of the exclusive guest suites and stylish rooms have a spacious private veranda with spectacular views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Guests also have the use of our comfortable guest lounge decorated in colonial style, with a fireplace. Our guests can also relax at our swimming pool with sundeck and lounge chairs and a special terrace in our extended, cultivated garden. All our suites and rooms have their own secure free parking space on the property. Turn down service is offered in the evening once the guests have departed for dinner. Double Dutch welcomes children of 12 years and older. Double Dutch is close to the waterfront and a mere 5 minutes walk from the center of Knysna's central business district, where you will find various local restaurants, shopping malls, African arts and crafts. Double Dutch is German, Dutch and English speaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Double Dutch B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing