We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liver ... not usually my first choice”
Review of The Bell Tavern

The Bell Tavern
Ranked #25 of 161 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: It is a quaint little pub sitauated on the grounds of Belvidere Manor
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Liver ... not usually my first choice”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Having spent many, many, many holidays in Knysna ... a recent, first time visit to The Bell Pub.

Superb location ... a beautiful Estate. Cosy, quaint, warm interior. Staff are charming, hard working, friendly and super efficient. Throughout the evening, despite the busy-ness of the restaurant, the staff seemed to effortlessly accommodate requests.

Menu has such a variety on offer. I opted for the Lamb Liver (with bacon and onion) and mash, an excellent choice, delicious ... my husband had the Steak Pie which is served with vegetables and chips. Generous portions!

We couldn't resist the desserts on offer ,,, after ice cream with chocolate sauce and fruit salad with ice cream we couldn't resist the creme brulee!!!


Highly recommend!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013Sharon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    88
    35
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food slow service”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We love the food and have eaten here quite a few times in the past. Today we were very disappointed. One waitress to serve about 15 tables on a Sunday afternoon means no service.

Helpful?
2 Thank Renate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A touch of English Countryside”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A cute, quaint place to spend some time. If you are not in a rush and not looking for gourmet food but want to have an enjoyable time then this is the place to go.Food is what is expected of a pub and I do recommend the chicken pie that is baked and served in a dish. It makes one feel as you are spending an enjoyable afternoon in the English countryside.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AFRIBULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2+ hour wait for the food to arrive”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The bar service was good and the waiters tried their best. The food was just not coming out of the kitchen, at all. Everyone around us were very irritated too. Repeated complaints to management finally resolved some of the hold up (a wedding being catered for out of the same kitchen)and the food finally arrived after 15h00 - more than 2 hours after we sat down.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jatroskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Needs proper service training”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We went to The Bell Pub during our stay at the Belvidere Manor Hotel for dinner. The service is incredibly slow, the poor waitress would just leave in the middle of taking our tables orders on more than one occasion. We also had to wait which felt like an hour for our food, which last mentioned was tasty but not the best I have ever had. I understand it is a pub but one would expect a little bit more. It is none the less nice to go and the atmosphere is lovely and cosy. We tried the Steak Pie, chicken pie both filled with proper filling but the outstanding dish must have been the Lamb Curry served with all the sambals, very tender and spiced just right. I would recommend the curry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell Tavern also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to The Bell Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing