We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food! Really great.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell Tavern

The Bell Tavern
Ranked #25 of 157 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: It is a quaint little pub sitauated on the grounds of Belvidere Manor
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
147 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food! Really great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Belvidere Manor Hotel. Although we didn't actually eat inside the Bell Pub, we ordered room service on about 4 occasions. The food was great - every time! The selection is adequate and the wine list is too.

I can certainly see how the Pub would come alive. A pity we didn't get to experience it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    82
    34
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Set in Belvidere Manor grounds, this is a great little pub/restaurant. The menu is varied, although it could do with updating. Service is good, friendly, and with outside seating its great for a lunch with the kids. The Manor grounds are for residential guests, but the views of the lagoon are amazing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherKnysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Campden
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely pub but be prepared to wait for your grub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Ate lunch here on a hot day and almost melted while we waited one hour for our food. Admittedly, a power failure earlier was partly to blame but meals have to be ferried from the main house by a small team of staff, which doesn't help. The food was tasty and we enjoyed the view while we waited.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Petal1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Liver ... not usually my first choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Having spent many, many, many holidays in Knysna ... a recent, first time visit to The Bell Pub.

Superb location ... a beautiful Estate. Cosy, quaint, warm interior. Staff are charming, hard working, friendly and super efficient. Throughout the evening, despite the busy-ness of the restaurant, the staff seemed to effortlessly accommodate requests.

Menu has such a variety on offer. I opted for the Lamb Liver (with bacon and onion) and mash, an excellent choice, delicious ... my husband had the Steak Pie which is served with vegetables and chips. Generous portions!

We couldn't resist the desserts on offer ,,, after ice cream with chocolate sauce and fruit salad with ice cream we couldn't resist the creme brulee!!!


Highly recommend!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013Sharon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We love the food and have eaten here quite a few times in the past. Today we were very disappointed. One waitress to serve about 15 tables on a Sunday afternoon means no service.

Helpful?
2 Thank Renate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell Tavern also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to The Bell Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing