We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillview Self-Catering Apartments
Ranked #36 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Reviewed 19 July 2012

About my 5th stay at Hillview, and Karen is a great host. Couldn't be more helpful. Provided extra wood, as the weather turned and put my bike away safely after id left it out. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

ariving at Hillview I was greeted by Mervin the owner. He saw my bike asked my plans and after I told him I wanted to ride THE HELL he offered to show me the way and accompany me down the pass. Its a day i will remember forever, Thankyou Mervin for the company and thankyou Karren for a fantastic appartment and for lending Mervin to me from 8am to 7pm. Al B Back.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Hi Bob, thank-you for the review, glad we could help you tick that off your bucket list. The motorbike ride to Die Hel was fantastic! Thank-you for staying at Hillview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Yes i mean it everything about this place is more then excellent, Excellent to me is a small underrated word for this property. By far this has been my most memorable stay If i ever go to Knysna again that would be only to stay in Hillview. I am very much overwhelmed by the hospitality of Karen and her husband. The unit 4 had amazing views of Knysna. My view is that staying on hill was much better decision then staying on Quays. This property is ideal for family stay and perhaps the best in self catering in Knysna. My advise simply go for it. It is the best.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecimadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We've just come back from a two week trip to South Africa which included three nights at Hillview towards the end of our stay. Can really recommend this first class accommodation - we'd been staying in B&Bs for the rest of our trip and it was so nice to have the freedom of self catering for a few days. Our apartment was immaculate - lots of space and an enormous window with incredible views of the lagoon - you could spend hours just gazing down at the waterfront, watching the boats coming and going. Really easy to do self catering here - there are lots of big supermarkets nearby, and a very friendly laundrette just down the road. Drop your dirty clothes off in the morning and pick them up clean and folded late afternoon. If you don't want to prepare your own breakfast, this is offered by the owners so don't let this put you off if you prefer to be catered for. Really excellent position and felt thoroughly spoilt in such a glamorous apartment which should have cost four times what it did.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 5 - it was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieandSamsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed just one night at Hillview - the accommodation is excellent - clean, modern and elegant. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Knysna.
The owners were very friendly and welcoming. Safe parking and not far from town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We travel excessively for work and have stayed in s/c`s and g/h`s all over South Africa. We decided to take a break and discover Knysna, always driving though and never having time to stop at leisure. Hillview was recommended in a national newspaper and we can just concur with the journalist’s observations. It is very easy to access from the main thoroughfare, in the centre of town but far from noisy roads.
Hillview is reasonably priced, modern, clean, enough space in the bathroom, very comfortable bed, a swimming pool, safe access from the street directly to our unit and the luxury of being able to prepare a meal of our choice instead of eating out all the time. There is even a miniscule private garden to sit in and sip your morning coffee, listening to the birds, that is now if you do not want to do it poolside!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CintsaEastSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelHoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.5 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
1.2 mi away
Thesen Islands' Lodges
Thesen Islands' Lodges
#16 of 107 in Knysna
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#23 of 129 in Knysna
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#13 of 129 in Knysna
207 reviews
3.2 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
277 reviews
17.6 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview Self-Catering Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview Self-Catering Apartments

Address: 8 League Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: £42 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillview Self-Catering Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing time out in our beautiful Knysna will see you rejuvenated and refreshed. Come and re-charge a little. We have the ideal place. Consider it your own private apartment, a getaway from your daily routine. Always ready. Affordable, great for any time of the year. Long or short stay. Explore the Garden Route. Read, take a walk on the beach, along the lagoon or in the forest. Bring your mountain bike or canoe. Go shopping, horse-riding, fishing, hiking. Sit. Relax. Talk. Hillview is close to many great restaurants.. Your apartment with Dstv, free wi-fi, swimming pool, braai area, private entrance, secured off-street parking, percale linen and your apartment serviced on request. Star graded for your peace of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillview Self-Catering Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing