We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hosts, comfortable accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
Ranked #96 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly hosts, comfortable accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spent two nights and really enjoyed our stay. Laurette and Andre were friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and cosy, the bed comfortable and I would definitely recommend it for a short stay. Annette and Deryk Anderson

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    11
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
8
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is quite a pleasant place to overnight and stay for a few days. Great value for money with a warm hearten welcome on arrival, during one's stay and with leaving. Close to all indemnities and easy access. The caring received from the host make it so much more worth the effort.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etrecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our room was small, a bit old but clean and tidy and a little balcony overlooking the harbor. Pity its so close to the main road (i.e. traffic noise when outside). Its okay for a stopover and conveniently positioned near the waterfront ..but in all honesty I would do some more research into places to stay next time I'n in Knysna. The owners were reasonably friendly and helpful ..The price was good

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

If after a five hour drive from Capetown anyone thinks this place is good, needs to go and see a doctor. We ended up in what can only be described as a converted shed, made from fibre board. We had a double room and the other in our party ended up in a room with a bunk bed in it, so little space the door could not be opened fully. She was horrified at the state of the place as she had booked it and was on the verge of tears. If a car is parked outside this room you have to limbo around it. Equipment in the room was rubbish I have thrown out better to the bin man. Nobody to greet guests, we eventually found the key on a notice board, so unable to complain. I was on the verge of going to find somewhere else to stay. Spend a few rand more and go stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ratchetspanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeside88, Manager at Lakeside Knysna Accomodation, responded to this review, 6 February 2015
Joined TripAdviser only a few days ago and was shocked by this review as this is not what we would like guest to experience at Lakeside. As this happened a long time ago and the problems was unfortunately not brought to our attention for rectification during the stay, although we live on the premises and our phone numbers are prominently displayed, we can now only promise that we will keep on trying to make guests leave us with positive feelings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed in Knysna one night and this was a great choice for lodging. The owners are very nice and extremely helpful. They also upgraded my room so I'd be more comfortable since it's wintertime and a larger room was available. I took advantage of the self catering option in my room and even had a balcony with a table and two chairs that overlooked the water. It is on a busy street so if street noise bothers you, bring earplugs. I live in San Francisco so the street noise was familiar to me and not a problem. Also walking distance to a BazBus stop so I got the benefits of both an affordable private room/bath and bus convenience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We only stayed for one night, but the place was really really nice and cute for my friend and I! The people that own the place are extremely friendly and accommodating, they really made the our stay awesome. The place is right on the lagoon, with probably about a 10 minute walk to the center of knysna and tons of other great eating and shopping locations. Would definitely visit again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We definitely enjoyed our stay at Lakeside Accomodation in Knysna!
Our room was quite small but clean and tidy in wooden-style (not everybody's taste) with self-catering facilities and a little balcony overlooking the harbour.
Very affordable self-catering accomodation with carpark on premises and a short walk to the waterfront.
The owners were very friendly and helpful and tried everything to make our stay comfortable!
We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franzi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#28 of 30 in Knysna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inyathi Guest Lodge
Inyathi Guest Lodge
#36 of 100 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.9 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#43 of 126 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#14 of 126 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#32 of 100 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Idle Monkey
Idle Monkey
#60 of 126 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Knysna Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Knysna Accomodation

Property: Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
Address: 88 Main Road, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeside Knysna Accomodation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, clean and comfortable Self-catering suites. We are located across the street (N2 main road)from the Knysna Estuary with magnificent views of the Knysna Heads and lake. The suites form part of two wooden buildings. Owner managed. Walking distance to the town center, waterfront with restaurants and shops. Off street under cover parking. Ideal location to explore the Garden Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeside Knysna Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing