We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and inviting hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Unique and inviting hotel”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a work trip and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very unique with a great pool, big rooms and it is situated in a great little shopping/restaurant district. My wife took some time out of her busy work schedule to enjoy the spa and came back completely relaxed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    148
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
106
322
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This is a very unusual, interesting hotel that has been tastefully created around a former power generating plant. All facilities you might expect of this class of hotel are there.

One word of warning for foreign visitors though: the Turbine Hotel hotel, Thesen Island as a whole and a large part of Knysna effectively comprise a rarified holiday environment for rich, urban South Africans. This translated into an environment that my family compared to ''a cross between Florida Spring Break and the Stepford Wives". They pleaded with me to cut our stay short and check out early.

Last word to note: the cancellation policy (at least during the high season) is simply Draconian compared to global hotel norms (100% charge if cancellation within 14 days, 50% within a month etc). Best be 100% sure of the visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanHeard, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding the Turbine Hotel and Spa and it's unique offering. Our cancellation policy is in place as a guideline and every situation is adressed individually depending on circumstances. I regret to learn that you did not enjoy Thesen Islands and Knysna as it is an extremely popular holiday and lifestyle destination.

On your next visit to the Garden Route please contact me personally and I will arrange some of the hidden treasures on Thesen Islands that are not always visible to mainstream tourists such as our Turbine kayak excursions.

Kind regards,

Allan Heard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The Turbine Hotel is situated on Thesen Island in Knysna, South Africa. I visited this very unique hotel, with my husband, for our belated 25th wedding anniversary in September. The hotel was originally a Power Station, and was converted into a beautiful botique hotel, which opened in August 2010.The hotel has 24 bedrooms, including 7 suites, with fabulous bathrooms. The Turbine bar is lovely and cosy, but was very quiet when we visited. The Island Cafe restaurant is perfectly situated overlooking the canal, and the food served at both breakfast and dinner is of excellent quality. There are excellent restaurants, shops and activities on Thesen Islands, all within 5 minutes walk of The Turbine. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

What a fabulous destination - we have often enjoyed lunch at the Turbine Hotel on Thesen Island and as it was our anniversary, we decided to stay overnight even though we live in nearby Wilderness.

Our suite, the service, attention to detail and food were all top notch - even the sunset did not disappoint.

I would definitely recommend the Turbine for anyone looking for a unique venue and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everyone-is-a-Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at the Turbine during our recent visit to South Africa. It was unique and magical. Everything was so tastefully done and made this hotel really different. Alot of thought went into renovating this old power station in a magnificent hotel. Our room was beautiful with wonderful views. The staff were very helpful and the food divine. Even the managers wife chipped and waited on tables and showed guests to their rooms. The painting in the hotel are to die for and I wished that I had had a big enough suitecase to bring some of them home with me. It was very cold during our stay, but the two big fire places in the dining room added a cheery warmth to the atmosphere. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meredith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Just some of the words that come to mind to describe the stay at Turbine Hotel. Was invited as a guest for our radio travel show and had the privilege to meet the developers and to listen to the story behind the story (or in this case the historic turbine). What impressed the most was the wonderful use of the old machinery to create very unusual spaces, but without loosing the historic and industrial feel. The decor is as unusual as the building – a mixture of old and modern, colours and whites. The rooms are beautiful and loved the small attention to detail like the little bedside lamps hidden away in just the right spot to make reading at night a pleasure. Finer detail like incorporating some of the old pieces of the hotel in the rooms creates all these small adventures – what will I discover around the next corner. The restaurant setting is spectacular, but I found it difficult to enjoy the scenery, as I was so taken with the decor – trying to steal ideas with my eyes! One of the biggest plus points of this hotel was the rates – remember this is 5 star and in comparison with many other 5 star establishment, together with the joy and the creative satisfaction this hotel offers – it is a must!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moniquestrydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

A very funny and amazing hotel... a power station till 70's turned into a boutique hotel!! Service was good, very nice decoration but rooms are quite small and we did not like the location though it's right on Knysna lagoon! It's part of a brand new real estate development which looks more like scandinavian than south african's (all grey/blue and white wooden houses on the water!). The bedroom we stayed was at ground floor and only a view on a terrace garden/wooden wall... Restaurant is nice and good but they should change the menu a bit more often (we stayed 3 nights and had the same menu during those 3 days!!). Knysna in general is a place to avoid in december but on the other hand I can't imagine staying in Turbine Hotel when it's not the touristic season it must be very depressing as all houses and shops around are closed!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeliDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
6.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa

Property: The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Address: 36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turbine Hotel and Spa was an ambitious project which transformed the old power station into a unique 5 star boutique hotel with a massive wow factor. The Turbine Hotel is surrounded by water on three sides. The Hotel comprises of the Island Café & Tapas Bar, as well as twenty five individually themed suites of the highest standard. The Amani Spa offers the ultimate escape for pure self-indulgence. The Turbine Water Club offers al fresco dining from our deli, oysters from our champagne bar and a wide variety of activities on both land and the Knysna lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing