We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2013

What a lovely spot on Thesen Islands, driving down to the island is a real treat. The hotel was a delightful spot. Staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is so very quirky and well worth a look even if you are not staying there.
Rooms well appointed and very individual. Large windows with lots of natural light flooding in.
We went on the Sunset cruise and the captain was great fun and did everything he could to make our trip enjoyable and memorable.
Breakfast service a little slow and the staff not as pleasent as they could have been on one of the mornings we stayed. Had requested info in advance via email and it was good advice. Golfing in the area is well worth a trip and extremely good value for money when compared to golf prices in Portugal and other place in Europe - the course was spectacular.
Plenty of restaurents around the hotel - but was very busy and not always able to book a table in advance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Dear Michelle R

Thank you for posting your review, and it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Turbine. We are fortunate to have so many golf courses in the area and The Turbine is perfectly situated to allow convenient access to all of them. The Garden Route is certainly a golfing Mecca.

I will pass your compliments onto the skipper from your boat cruise. Wishing you well in the meantime.

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
There are newer reviews for The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

We are regular visitors to thessen island staying in self catering accommodation. One of our favourite Restaurants is the Turbine Hotel this is such an amazing building and a delight to visit. The food is of a high standard and well presented staff are friendly, and the location is great.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

What a beautiful hotel! Very different, original and in a great location. Beautiful pool + playground for the little ones just next door. We had a wonderful dinner, the food was of high quality, service impeccable. Breakfast as ok but way too slow. Different staff then the dinner staff i guess. We stayed in a family room (suite? not sure) - rooms are all very different, on the smaller side, some have very small windows, others have balconies with the most amazing views of Knysna Lagoon. All in all, a modern, fun hotel that looks very fresh even though they've been operating for over two years now. Recommended!

Room Tip: ask about the size of your window for standard rooms - some have bigger windows then others
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This was an absolutely fantastic find. A tiny little hotel built on a gorgeous island lagoon setting. First up, it's a once in a lifetime little place - they took an old turbine power station and its warehouse and turned it into a elegant, chic upmarket hotel. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed with a unique bathroom setting!, The overall look and feel of the place was great and it was fun walking around the different areas. It had a lovely little pool deck overlooking the lagoon and its canals was a great place to hang out in the morning and sunset. Dining was also really good - a casual 'island' style cafe/restaurant offered tasty, quality food - with a very small menu for each meal setting. Finally - the staff were always helpful, obliging and attentive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrW100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Dear DrW100

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and The Turbine is definitely a great find, as you say. It is our hope that a visit to The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa in Knysna is a fun and memorable one for all of our guests.

Best regards

Ernst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is the life!!!
Staying in a luxary suite at the Turbine Hotel is an amazing experience!
Stunning views of the Knysna lagoon.
Exellent friendly service from the hotel staff.
Stunning 5 * meals in the Island Cafe!!

Do yourself a favour and definately stay for more than ne night!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2012

Dear Rene S

Thank you for posting a review and we appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit!

Best regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

What a treat! We stayed at the Turbine Hotel and Spa with friends for one night on our recent tour of the Garden Route. We thought the whole comcept was delightful. The building was once the turbine that provided all the power to Thesen Island. The restoration has been well planned and the fact that many of the original fixtures have been kept is one of the really unique features of the place. The fact that no attempt to HIDE them was made but rather to accentuate them by painting them in numerous primary colors was really very bold. We loved the artworks on display throughout the hotel. Our room was large and opened onto, not one, but two patios. We had cocktails before dinner in their tapas bar and dined in the restaurant both that evening and the following morning. Everything was delicious, well prepared, beautifully presented. Our only criticism is that there were NO oysters on the menu. And Knysna is an "oyster capital". What a shame!
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Even though we were there for only one night we were given lots of personal attention and we were wished a safe journey by the manager just before leaving in the morning. I recommend the hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GranBeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear GranBeba

Great that you enjoyed your stay, though it's a pity you weren't able to linger longer. I'm happy to let you know that we've added oysters to all of our menus, now. I think being resident here we take it for granted that oysters are always available!

Best wishes, and thank you again.

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I had the opportunity to stay in The Turbine and was blown away by the transformation of the old power station. Looking at the photographs of what it looked like originally, one can only be impressed by the end result. Much of the original turbines and piping had been retained and everything planned around it. I love the modern, eclectic decor.

The food was great and I can say that the eggs benedict was the best I ever had. You can cycle all around the lagoon or navigate the canals on the island in a kayak, just looking at the different houses. The staff is pleasant and helpful.

Thiis was a unique experience for me and the treatment in the Spa was a true 'treat'.

Room Tip: I had a corner room with balcony from where it was a treat to sit and watch the birds (cormorants) d...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Margaret K

Thank you for posting. Many guests tell us that the unique, quirky decor of our hotel is largely what makes us the best boutique hotel on Thesen Islands and in Knysna. We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us.

Warm regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
823 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
1.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.2 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: 36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: £136 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turbine Hotel and Spa was an ambitious project which transformed the old power station into a unique 5 star boutique hotel with a massive wow factor. The Turbine Hotel is surrounded by water on three sides. The Hotel comprises of the Island Café & Tapas Bar, as well as twenty five individually themed suites of the highest standard. The Amani Spa offers the ultimate escape for pure self-indulgence. The Turbine Water Club offers al fresco dining from our deli, oysters from our champagne bar and a wide variety of activities on both land and the Knysna lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing