We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Country House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$271
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveller rating
421
176
45
15
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
176
45
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspower stationthesen islandpower plantisland cafeoriginal machinerygastro pubinteresting hotelwonderful hotelgarden routehoneymoon suitebeautiful settingwonderful staybreakfast was excellentoystersattention to detailamazing viewsknysna lagoon
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 676 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My family of 4 spent 4 nights at Turbine Hotel and Spa just after New Year. Unfortunately our arrival was very disappointing as the young man at reception was very off hand and distant. The hotel was very unusual and definately some sort of initiation tour would have been helpful - he was vague - almost being rude.
Other staff were helpful and tried hard to please. However, they may have been at a slight disadvantage as we had come directly from The Cape Grace, Capetown!
Rooms were pleasant although both of ours had no outlook. Breakfast was OK and we had dinner twice which was excellent - however the menu was the same every night we were there.
Turbine is a hotel that is trying very hard but although management appeared to be constantly about no one approached or spoke to us at any time. We did enjoy our time here but by the end we were getting slightly tired of the abundance of the ornamental machinery!

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the water.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 577Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Dear 577Nicola

I am pleased your family had an enjoyable stay in spite of the not-so-warm welcome that you received. We have initiated appropriate counseling measures to address this issue, and insist that all of our Reception staff provide commentary on the various machinery when showing guests to their Suites.

With the hotel being just over two years old, our aim is to achieve similar renown for our quality of service as some of the better-known, established hotels in the country are famous for. I'm sure we'll get there!

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The hotel speaks to the characteristic imagination and creativity ones finds in South Africa. It is a striking example of a post-industrial remake of a power station. The rooms are impeccably designed and presented. Be prepared, however, that the rooms are quite small and price high. The public spaces suffer from the intrusion of gaudy "art" that is for sale and not in keeping with the original design. Service is very uneven, at the front desk, in the bar and in the restaurant. Our car was valet parked by the manager on arrival, but no one was on hand to even help with bags when we left. There were various confusions with orders in the cafe and bar and service was always slow. None of this ruined the trip but this is not 5 star - check out the Conrad Pezula to witness that.

Room Tip: Rooms can suffer from noise from other rooms, avoid 110, 111 and 112 that overlook the parking lot.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevinathome62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Dear Kevinathome62

Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that your taste in art differs from ours, but that is art, I suppose. We make a point of showcasing predominantly contemporary pieces from talented emerging artists from our immediate surrounds, and are always searching for new contributors.

We are committed to improving on our service levels and our consistency. Admittedly, we struggled to cope with the constant high volumes of business at times over the extremely busy holiday period, but am certain that we continue to improve and impress more often than not.

Warm regards

Ernst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

What a lovely spot on Thesen Islands, driving down to the island is a real treat. The hotel was a delightful spot. Staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is so very quirky and well worth a look even if you are not staying there.
Rooms well appointed and very individual. Large windows with lots of natural light flooding in.
We went on the Sunset cruise and the captain was great fun and did everything he could to make our trip enjoyable and memorable.
Breakfast service a little slow and the staff not as pleasent as they could have been on one of the mornings we stayed. Had requested info in advance via email and it was good advice. Golfing in the area is well worth a trip and extremely good value for money when compared to golf prices in Portugal and other place in Europe - the course was spectacular.
Plenty of restaurents around the hotel - but was very busy and not always able to book a table in advance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Dear Michelle R

Thank you for posting your review, and it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Turbine. We are fortunate to have so many golf courses in the area and The Turbine is perfectly situated to allow convenient access to all of them. The Garden Route is certainly a golfing Mecca.

I will pass your compliments onto the skipper from your boat cruise. Wishing you well in the meantime.

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We are regular visitors to thessen island staying in self catering accommodation. One of our favourite Restaurants is the Turbine Hotel this is such an amazing building and a delight to visit. The food is of a high standard and well presented staff are friendly, and the location is great.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

What a beautiful hotel! Very different, original and in a great location. Beautiful pool + playground for the little ones just next door. We had a wonderful dinner, the food was of high quality, service impeccable. Breakfast as ok but way too slow. Different staff then the dinner staff i guess. We stayed in a family room (suite? not sure) - rooms are all very different, on the smaller side, some have very small windows, others have balconies with the most amazing views of Knysna Lagoon. All in all, a modern, fun hotel that looks very fresh even though they've been operating for over two years now. Recommended!

Room Tip: ask about the size of your window for standard rooms - some have bigger windows then others
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews