We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel is unlike any other I have ever seen!
Fascinating restoration using all the machinery from the past - parts decorate rooms and corridors. Wonderful to photograph, lovely rooms all different - the Nautical Room a must for rowers! Even a chopping board and a lemon and knife to make a G & T. Extremely comfortable and reasonably priced. Lovely warm staff - the breakfast particularly good - and it's a lovely location near the water & boat hire Small outdoor pool..Thesen Island much quieter than central Knysna as little traffic, but lots of places to eat and nice shops.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear JudithS
Thank you so much for reviewing The Turbine Hotel. You comments are very kind and I will certainly pass them on to our hardworking staff.
The hotel is so unique. So much care has been taken in restoring the old power station to a true representation of what it was.
So happy that you enjoyed the individual décor of the room. A lot of thought and imagination went into each room. We are really spoilt to be situated in the little paradise that is Thesen Island. Quiet, safe and just beautiful. Please visit us again soon on your next trip down the Garden Route. Should you have any friends traveling this way, feel free to give them my details, so that we can really look after them and spoil them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

A great idea for the re-use of one of Thesen Islands industrial buildings with a quirky use of old pieces of equipment and overall layout. The people are friendly and attentive but the speed of service in the restaurant and bar area are left wanting. The air conditioning in my bedroom was also pretty ineffective and set to a minimum of 20 degrees - which it never seemed to get down to ?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnyHSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear JohnyHSurrey
Thank you for reviewing Turbine Hotel. The use of the derelict old power station and turning it into this wonderful boutique hotel, delights and pleases so many of our guests. I will certainly pass on your compliments of friendliness to our staff. they are also very proud of the hotel and enjoy interacting with our guests. Your comments about slowness of service have been addressed with the morning staff.
If you are ever in the area again, please feel free to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Loved the architecture and design that went into renovating the place. Aesthetically a very pleasing establishment. The suites are spacious and stunning but the standard rooms are very small. Rather upgrade to a suite. Lovely location and great breakfast.

Room Tip: Book a Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClemD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear CLEMD2014
Thank you for reviewing The Turbine Hotel. The architecture and design of the hotel is really special, as it has kept and restored a major part of Knysna's history that could have so easily been lost. Our location on Thesen Island harbour town is perfect for guests to explore the surrounding area on foot in a safe, beautiful setting. We do offer a really good and slightly different breakfast to most hotels.
Next time you, your family or friends are visiting the Garden Route, please come and visit us again. You will be most welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Throughout our trip to SA I have been struck by the friendliness of people and the quality of service - the Turbine is I'm afraid the exception. Upon check in we had to carry our own bags to the room while the guy on reception watched us struggle. No welcome drink (everywhere we have had bubbles) a cursory explanation of the room and he was gone. The room was poky by the standards of others and the bathroom shutters afford little privacy. To be fair the breakfast staff were good and the boat trip was a highlight. The architecture of the place is impressive but the service leaves a significantly less impressive impression.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Paul W
Thank you for reviewing the hotel. We are happy that most aspects of your stay you were happy with. We do have an good breakfast spread and the staff enjoy interacting with the guests, not only for food service, but making suggestions of places in the area to visit.
Your experience at check-in has been dealt with. the person concerned has been severely reprimanded, as his lack of correct procedures is totally contrary to the warm welcoming check-in all our guests should receive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is a very unique property on Thesen Island in Knysna We loved the location Its a short walk to lots of restaurants and bars as well as shopping so you can park and dont need to drive anywhere for a great evening out The hotel was a converted old turbine station for a wood mill and they have kept a lot of the old power generating machines and accessories as decoration throughout It works well and has a very unique feeling as its been very well done The rooms are comfortable though quite small and all have a sea or canal view as far as we could see. Not your usual cookie cutter hotel by any means but great fun and good breakfast and Tapas bar restaurant on the premises

Room Tip: Canal side rooms away from the main drag are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Michael F
We are so happy the Turbine fulfilled all your expectations. The quirky style and décor is part of our unique history here and is enjoyed by so many guests. The location is just perfect. Safe, superb views of the lagoon and an interesting array of restaurants and shops all within walking distance of your room. When next in Knysna, please come and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Very unique hotel. Decor refreshingly different and the atmosphere relaxing. The staff are very friendly, helpful and eager to please. Had one small "hiccupp" (which is not unexpected during the very busy Xmas season) but it was dealt with by staff and management in a friendly and efficient manner. Loved the atmosphere in the Tapas Bar and of course Schalk's Prawn Braai is not to be missed! Delicious!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Prinni
Thank you for taking the time to compliment the Turbine Hotel. We must have one of the most unique concepts around for a hotel and a location that is hard to beat.
The staff all worked their socks off over the festive season, trying so hard to keep really large numbers of visitors happy. Schalk's prawn braai is a real hit and wonderful value for money. What better way to watch the sunset, than with a plate of succulent prawns and a pint of Mitchells draught beer to wash them down.
The next time you are in our area, please visit us again. We look forward to welcoming you, your family or your friends, back to the Turbine Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great location, can only echo others description. We had the suite 201 with a marvelous view and great interior. The idea of transforming a power plant into a hotel has been fully accomplished.
You can move safely around Thesen Island and Knysna's waterfront area with restaurants and shops is 15 minutes walking distance, we also felt safe at night walking there.
The big "but" for us was the service. Coming from lovely and warmy services in lodges this was very disappointing. Like every standard chain hotel, no smile, no personal treatment, for some food we needed to remind service staff. It's a pity because with a little more they could achieve a much better customer experience.
Worthwhile to mention that we could rent a (new) mountain bike for a reasonable price, which we did for one day.

Room Tip: 201 was excellent, great view towards bay and river (corner room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hakscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Hakscc
Thank you for your review on the Turbine Hotel. We have a wonderful location, just a few meters away from the Knysna lagoon. The views from most rooms, but especially 201, the one you stayed in, has spectacular views over the canals of Thesen Island. Thesen Island now has so much to offer tourists, from shopping, dining, adventure attractions, to just world class relaxing views.
We quickly identified one or two of the staff who needed further service training and I can proudly say that their service levels have been steadily improving, drawing compliments from many of our guests.
Great to hear you hired our mountain bikes to be able to easily explore the Island and surrounding areas. as you point out, this is just one of our really good value for money amenities that we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
1.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#3 of 30 in Knysna
372 reviews
1.2 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#2 of 30 in Knysna
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: 36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: £131 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turbine Hotel and Spa was an ambitious project which transformed the old power station into a unique 5 star boutique hotel with a massive wow factor. The Turbine Hotel is surrounded by water on three sides. The Hotel comprises of the Island Café restaurant and Gastro Pub, as well as twenty six individually themed rooms and suites of the highest standard. The Turbine Spa offers pampering treatments to indulge and relax weary souls, while the Turbine Water Club arranges lagoon cruises, whale watching, forest hikes, city tours and mountain biking for adventure seekers and explorers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing