We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Knysna)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
419
174
45
15
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
174
45
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspower stationthesen islandpower plantisland cafeoriginal machinerygastro pubinteresting hotelpool deckwonderful hotelgarden routehoneymoon suitebeautiful settingwonderful staybreakfast was excellentoystersattention to detailamazing views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 672 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We only attended the restaurant and spa, but it was an experience we will always remember. The food was excellent and very tasty with the spa small and intimate will well trained therapists.The bar is very unique with tasty food and a limited cocktail menu.There is a lot of history in this place with a funky and trendy make-over

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johanandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Johanandanne
Thank you for the most wonderful review. We are so pleased that your visit to our Amani Spa will be a very memorable experience. The staff so enjoy providing that above expectation experience that comes through genuine friendly but professional service.
We are trying to emulate those same experiences in our restaurant where Chef Andrew is cooking with real passion and eagerness to delight the taste buds.
Please be sure to call on us again soon when you get back to the Garden Route.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just spent two wonderful nights at this hotel on an APT tour of South Africa. The charming innovative way they have included all the novel things from the old power station into the decor is amazing. Very friendly reception rooms modern with some surprising features from the old and new blended together . Ate in the dining room for a superb 3 course meal with vey attentive service. The surrounds are all so very clean and inviting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosieanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Rosieanne
Your group of Australian travelling friends were such a pleasure to have at The Turbine Hotel.
We are so happy the you enjoyed the unique concept of the hotel, as well as the meal that the group had in our Island café. Everyone seemed to have enjoyed our amazing position we have, just meters away from the Knysna Lagoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

my wife and I stayed for two nights 23 &24 may 2014.
Unique hotel. Was originally a power station supplying power. Cleverly renovated to a modern 5+star hotel and yet retaining the old charm

We stayed in the Oyster Suite. Wonderful.

Manageress Ms. Liesel and staff including the domestic staff were very attentive, friendly and efficient.

The food was very good. Compliments to the chef.

Enjoyed our stay.


Chandi & Bella Vethanayagam

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHANDI V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Chandi V V
Thank you for all the compliments in your review. I will be passing on your kind words to the kitchen and restaurant staff. Liesl has already had a big smile when she read your review.
I am really happy that the whole party seem to have enjoyed our very different and unique concept that is The Turbine Hotel and Spa. Should you have any family and friends travelling our way soon, please give them our details so that they can come and visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The photos don't do this hotel justice. It is amazing to stay here the rooms and views are awesome the area which it's located are perfect has everything you could ask for on a honeymoon trip. Upon our arrival we were upgraded by the manager which was very generous. The way the hotel is built around the power station is truly remarkable. This place is a must and will def come back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chants03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Chants03
So pleased we could make your honeymoon stay with us so special. As you quite rightly said, we have one of the best spots in Knysna, within 20 meters of the canals on Thesen Island.
Upgrading you was a little bonus that we could offer, as a little gesture from the Hotel. Please don't wait too long till you revisit us. Feel free to recommend us to any of your family and friends travelling our way.
We have lots and lots of activities and attractions to show you in and around our beautiful little village of Thesens Island and Knysna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent just one night in Knysna on our way back to Cape Town and found the Turbine Hotel a funny place to stay. Good location (very quiet and comfortable on Thesen Island), very good restaurant (Island Café) and a lovely room (205 - the Oyster Suite). The way the old Power House was refurbished as a hotel is simply amazing. The love to detail is beyond my words. We can only highly recommend this wonderful place.

Room Tip: The Oyster Suite (room 205) is brilliant, but the other rooms (as far as we could see) are very nice and comfortable, too.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christophneuschaeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Christopheneuschaeffe
Thank you so much for reviewing the Turbine Hotel and for saying such kind things about the restaurant and rooms. The Oyster Suite has wonderful views and is very comfortable.
We are also very happy that you experienced the very high standards that we always try and maintain in the Island Café, our in-house restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews