We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so enthusiastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I was wondering better for a 5 star hotel. Rooms bot so spaciouses and services is not so hight. The best thing is the food and the restaurant. Amazing soup and all the other food................. We will come back in the garden route but probaboly not in this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giorgiolongoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Georgiolongoni
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
Turbine hotel is a heritage building which obliged the owners to restore the old power station to museum quality. This has been done with such integrity and for the vast majority of our visitors is a highlight of their stay in the country. The Hotel is never going to be a modern glitzy hotel, but offers a rare look back into Knysna's very interesting history of being a timber town. This is also why the size of rooms was limited to the requirements of Heritage foundation. All rooms are of adequate size and many have great views over Knysna and Thesen Island.
The Island Café serves very interesting and trendy food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Being located just a few meters away from Knysna Lagoon makes the restaurant an ideal setting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

I found this unique property to be a real gem. From the incredibly helpful staff (they opened the restaurant early so my business group could have breakfast) to the interesting incorporation of the original power equipment this hotel delighted at every turn. Further, the Thessen Island location was in the middle of a new tourist and holiday development featuring high end shops and a variety of do I g opportunities. I would strongly recommend the Turbine Hotel for anyone wishing to have a quality experience in a beautiful destination.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Trent B
Thank you for taking the time to write such a good review the Turbine Hotel on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate the compliments and feedback that I can give back to the staff. Where possible we do try and accommodate requests, like opening earlier for our guests. Thesen Islands is a fantastic location with such good shopping and restaurant offerings. Being just a few meters away from the Knysna Lagoon makes The Turbine Hotel a top location in Knysna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Booked very last minute and were not disappointed at all - the hotels very unique built around the old turbine building - it looks fab and is one of the best developments like this I've seen. Fantastic looking round all the old equipment and the way the hotels been built around it!

Rooms were lovely, very quiet and nicely decorated. Only slight niggle was the shower was pretty useless - but bathroom looked great keeping with the industrial theme.

Breakfast great - menu options and buffet really fresh and delicious.

Location is absolutely fab on Thessen island right alongside some great restaurants like Sirocco and the tapas bar.

Hired bikes through the hotel which was a great way to see Knysna and really reasonable for an afternoons ride. The spa is small but the staff fantastic - one of the best facials I've had.

would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mulledandstayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Mulledandstayed
Thank you for taking time to review The Turbine Hotel. Your comments and compliments are most appreciated. We are privileged to have our magnificent lagoon side location, as well as a historically significant building to offer accommodation from.
I am so happy that you got to experience our Amani Spa. It may not be the biggest, but the personal and professional service that our therapists deliver is earning them many fans in Knysna.
If you, or your family should visit Knysna again in the future, please be sure to give us a call. It would be great to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This place is exceptionally hip in a modern yet old fashioned way. Converted from a decommissioned turbine hall (obviously!), the hotel still contains much of the old machinery which gives it loads of character. We were given room 203 overlooking the waterway heading out to the lagoon, which was absolutely stunning. Bedroom was well equipped and comfortable, food very good quality and varied (although we only had breakfast), service efficient and friendly and facilities/amenities (pool etc) excellent. Situated in the quaint and peaceful setting of Thesen Island, the hotel is also within walking distance of numerous decent restaurants at Knysna waterfront.

It may be a bit more expensive than some other options in Knysna but possibly one of the nicest hotels we’ve stayed at and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Simon L
Thank you for your kind compliments and comments on Tripadvisor. We have the most amazing site for a Hotel that is so unique in it's concept. The old Turbine Power station has so much Knysna History to tell and now we can showcase that to our guests and visitors.
We are very proud of our hardworking staff that so enjoy making someones day special. Thesen Island has got so much going for the discerning visitors. Turbine can offer Spa treatments, boat cruises, bicycle hire, as well as our two amazing restaurants Island café and Col'cacchio Pizzeria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This place is exceptionally hip in a modern yet old fashioned way. Converted from a decommissioned turbine hall (obviously!), the hotel still contains much of the old machinery which gives it loads of character. We were given room 203 overlooking the waterway heading out to the lagoon, which was absolutely stunning. Bedroom was well equipped and comfortable, food very good quality and varied (although we only had breakfast), service friendly and efficient and facilities/amenities (pool etc) excellent. Situated in the quaint and peaceful setting of Thesen Island, the hotel is also within walking distance of numerous decent restaurants at Knysna waterfront.

It may be a bit more expensive than some other options in Knysna but possibly one of the nicest hotels we’ve stayed at and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Silord
Thank you for a great review of The Turbine Hotel. We have so much fun as staff here, showcasing our amazing hip, but industrial building that used to be the old Power Station. It is a heritage building, so all the machinery and old Turbines have been restored to museum quality. Throw into that 24 individually decorated rooms that have luxury appointments and you have a stayover that get guests talking.
The biggest bonus, is our lagoon edge position that is within easy walking or cycling distance from most of Knysna's major atttractions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My partner and I had a wonderful experience in this super modern hotel with old world charm. We loved the spacious bathroom with twin basins, big tub, cubicle shower, bidet and heated towel rails. The raw brick walls in the room is a lovely to show off the local artworks. The clever use of space for kitchen / work /dressing area works very well.
The breakfast / function area was brilliant - hard to believe how the place could be transformed between 4 am when our function ended and 7 am when breakfast started!!
Great and central to walk to shops and restaurants and for those who wanted to attempt canal sports. We rather focused on oysters and champagne!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liezl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Liezl1971
Thank you for a wonderful review. We as staff had such fun with the new Jaguar launch. It's so good to hear that we also ticked all the service and style boxes.
We are very proud of our rooms, that are luxurious, but at the same time, portray the industrial theme of the old Power station that is now the Turbine Hotel.
Please feel free to come and visit us any time you are in the Knysna area. You will be most welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We only attended the restaurant and spa, but it was an experience we will always remember. The food was excellent and very tasty with the spa small and intimate will well trained therapists.The bar is very unique with tasty food and a limited cocktail menu.There is a lot of history in this place with a funky and trendy make-over

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johanandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Johanandanne
Thank you for the most wonderful review. We are so pleased that your visit to our Amani Spa will be a very memorable experience. The staff so enjoy providing that above expectation experience that comes through genuine friendly but professional service.
We are trying to emulate those same experiences in our restaurant where Chef Andrew is cooking with real passion and eagerness to delight the taste buds.
Please be sure to call on us again soon when you get back to the Garden Route.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
842 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
1.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#3 of 30 in Knysna
375 reviews
1.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: 36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: £128 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turbine Hotel and Spa was an ambitious project which transformed the old power station into a unique 5 star boutique hotel with a massive wow factor. The Turbine Hotel is surrounded by water on three sides. The Hotel comprises of the Island Café restaurant and Gastro Pub, as well as twenty six individually themed rooms and suites of the highest standard. The Turbine Spa offers pampering treatments to indulge and relax weary souls, while the Turbine Water Club arranges lagoon cruises, whale watching, forest hikes, city tours and mountain biking for adventure seekers and explorers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing