We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Original boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turbine Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Original boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Turbine Boutique Hotel, built in an old power station, is original and unique in his style. The position is great, with amazing views of the canal. The service was perfect and we really enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    139
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
98
307
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Loved the originality with which the rooms have been put together, I like the design and modern/industrial decor make it uniquely different. One of the best allocations, next to the water.
Great location and great service. Breakfast buffet delicious with cooked to order options.
Beautiful and spacious rooms. Staff was excellent.
Also recommend some walks alongside the water.

Room Tip: Very best allocation, friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarisaV2342IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our stay at the hotel was great, the rooms are very cosy and the staff very friendly. Breakfast was great!
Loved the detail in the hotel and that they preserved the history of the building and the area. The rooms have a very welcoming feel and bathrooms are spacious. This hotel is great for anyone with a technical curiosity.

Room Tip: If choosing a standard room, we loved the room with the "red" decor inside, it compliments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeans-Shirts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I have been in Turbine hotel a couples of night the next month, and It was a really nice stay.
Kind staff, lovely rooms and amazing breakfasts! The only disappoint point was the wi-fi. Free, it didn't work properly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laradelser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Loved everything about the experience! The rooms were great with wonderful views of the canal. The breakfast was delicious with variety of options. The staff were excellent and could not have done more to make our stay memorable. Will certainly come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TGMSandton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Great service and a most fantastic staff !!!always pleasant and attentive carring .
Dinner was so elegantly presented and tasty . This is a untapped gem .....what a awersome evening .
Thanks To the management and great staff ..well done keep it up

Room Tip: Just talk you get more value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DustyTraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at Turbine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Sharkfeed
What can I say, other than Thank You so much for such a positive review. Hearing that the staff made your evening so pleasant and that the food complimented the service, makes me very proud. I will certainly pass on the very positive feedback.
Please return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We arrived at the Turbine hotel and Spa tired from a few hectic days. The hotel is a novel idea. It is situated close to the water. Our room was beautiful, it was downstairs and had a front patio. We had a good variety on the menu, breakfast was delicious, always hot and the staff g rented us so well. They made us feel at home, asking us about our day out, advising us to dress warmly etc. My husband and I had a massage, it was really relaxing! Don't forget to roam the streets and enjoy the quaint shops. I picked up some good, handmade ceramic animals, which were for presents back home. Also recommend some walks alongside the water.
One criticism is that I wrote two cards, one to my 87 year old mum and another to a friend. My husband was told postage would be added to our account. At the last moment, just before we left, a staff member chased us, and asked for money for our two cards! All other mail has arrived, but our two cards from this hotel didn't make it. Very disappointing! But otherwise we enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at Turbine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear David W
Thank you so much for the very positive review that you gave us on Tripadvisor. The restaurant has gained a fine reputation for serving great food, paired with one of the more comprehensive wine list choices to compliment the food.
I am so happy to read that the staff also kept up the very high standards that we always strive for.
It was god to read that you managed to do a bit of exploring and discovered many of the little gems that make Knysna the very popular little town that it is.
I will look into the postcards. Really a strange one, as we post so many guests cards almost every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
6.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.9 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turbine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turbine Hotel & Spa

Property: Turbine Hotel & Spa
Address: 36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Turbine Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turbine Hotel and Spa was an ambitious project which transformed the old power station into a unique 5 star boutique hotel with a massive wow factor. The Turbine Hotel is surrounded by water on three sides. The Hotel comprises of the Island Café & Tapas Bar, as well as twenty five individually themed suites of the highest standard. The Amani Spa offers the ultimate escape for pure self-indulgence. The Turbine Water Club offers al fresco dining from our deli, oysters from our champagne bar and a wide variety of activities on both land and the Knysna lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your Turbine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing