We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice way to start our trip in Southern Africa”

Garden Route (Tsitsikamma, Knysna, Wilderness) National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.77*
and up
Tsitsikamma Canopy Tour
Ranked #2 of 76 things to do in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Auckland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice way to start our trip in Southern Africa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We self drove the garden route heading to route 62 from Knysna. The roads are great and the scenery nice too, although coming from New Zealand I think we are spoiled for coastal and mountain scenery here so we weren't completely blown away by the scenery. Food, accommodation and various attractions were all fabulous. Stopped off at the famous surf beach - Jeffreys bay and although not expecting it mid May saw a whale swimming by which was pretty cool. There's lots to do, especially around Knysna and Outdshoorn and we would have liked to have had a couple of nights at one or both of those places to fit more in under less time pressure. Hindsight is a wonderful thing!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Leeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    190
    41
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not a Place, Its a Journey...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Garden Route is not place to stop by for a day or two its a stretch of road running along the southern coast of South Africa passing through beautiful forests and amazing towns with hundreds of activities to do, sights to see, food to eat, for all ages, families, couples, backpackers etc. It is could easily be the only reason why you would want to vacation in South Africa

For anyone travelling local or international depending on the amount of time you have you could either fly to East London then rent a car and make your way to Cape Town or skip the East London to Port Elizabeth section and start at Port Elizabeth (Addo Elephant National Park). How long it will depends on your pace and activities. You could spend days doing a single trail or just one day driving straight to Cape Town so it all depends on your itinerary.

Living in Johannesburg with my own car, only 9 days, 8 nights, the need to take in a few activities and sights decided to drive down through Bloemfontein, Graaf Reniet, Port Elizabeth then make my way up to Mossel Bay and then return through Beaufort West, Kimberly. In a perfect world with three to four weeks I would have started in East London and made my way to Cape Town.

I have/will review the individual attractions but overall this is a must road trip for all South Africans or people visiting from abroad. I plan on returning to finish the Mossel Bay to Cape Town stretch and maybe go far up as Saldanha Bay...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RVQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice scenic route”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We liked to travel through the Tstsikamma and wilderness park. The only problem was that we seee quite a lot of forrests when travelling in Finland. So it may be is was not so exited than for people down there, because SA doesn't have nature forrests as much as we have.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erkki1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Travellers can do a lot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The route from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth is dotted with so many beaches and resorts that there is no dearth of what one can do. You can just stop your car, get off and either picnic on the hillside, or on the beach, which will be on either side of you.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NSDSVSMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Nice trail, beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We did the Kranshoek day hike. Magnificent views and most variation in scenery!
The trail takes roughly three hours to complete. Make sure to wear proper shoes as the trail can be slippery at some points.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garden Route (Tsitsikamma, Knysna, Wilderness) National Park also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Garden Route (Tsitsikamma, Knysna, Wilderness) National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing