We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great way to relax & enjoy a couple of hours”

Heads Explorer Catamaran Day Cruises
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great way to relax & enjoy a couple of hours”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We just managed to get tickets for the afternoon sailing before she left. The evening option with snacks etc sounded good but unfortunately time was against us.
The crew were friendly helpful & able to answer all the questions that were asked.
The weather in the harbour was lovely & calm but as we reached the heads it was obviously not suitable conditions for proceeding out to sea but that's what can happen when dealing with Mother Nature.
The seating areas on the catamaran were clean & comfortable with choice of up front on the nets or on the seats.
There were other boat trips available from the quays but I think this was the best option.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank babooshkaphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Heads Explorer Catamaran Day Cruises, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear BabooshkaPhillips

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment. We definitely agree with you that The Heads Explorer IS the best option!!

Have a nice day.
Regards
Managment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We phoned the company and got told over the phone that the boat will be going out to sea so then we booked. When I got the tickets for the cruise they again told us we would be foing through the heads because the weather was great. When we got on the boat the skipper told us that he wouldn't be able to go through the heads because there was not enough time allocated to him by his office. The next day I confronted the manager about this. He said that they can only take 12 people out to sea but if more people book for the same cruse that they do not warm the people and that it is not there problem either. I feel that they lure people with the idea of going to sea and then take more people just to make money and not be honest about the real fact that they can only take 12 people to sea. Rather do the spring tide cruse company's trip they don't lie and does go out to sea

Helpful?
Thank awievdmerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Heads Explorer Catamaran Day Cruises, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear awievdmerwe

Thank you for taking the time to comment. It is our opinion that our staff are not allowed to and do not make any commitment pertaining to exiting the Knysna Heads. Safety of our GUESTS is of utmost importance to us and the decision to go out to sea can only be made by the skipper. The decision is dependant on the conditions of the sea in the Knysna Heads at the time of the cruise. In our experience this changes very often on any given day and therefore we never confirm an exit through the Heads.

All yachts are only licensed to take 12 passengers out to sea. Our yacht, Heads Explorer, is licensed to sail 36 passengers on the Knysna Lagoon therefore we are within our full right to sell to capacity.

Please feel free to contact us directly on 044-3821693 or marketing@featherbed.co.za

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jena, Germany
1 review
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We went on the sunset catamaran tour today and our expectations were exceeded. The catamaran was in an excellent condition and clean. We could sit on the front nets either with or without bean bags which was really comfortable and we could go anywhere else.
We thought we would also pass the Heads into the sea but this is too dangerous most of the days. But it didn't matter at all because the sail on the lagoon was already beautiful.
The food was served on our way back and it was delicious. There were two drinks of choice included in the sunset tour price.
The crew was really nice and obliging. All in all it was an amazing experience for us and definitely worth the money.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A definate must”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We took the catamaran to the nature reserve. What an experience.Breathtaking scenery followed by a crayfish braai. I highly recommend this to anyone.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Heads Explorer Catamaran Day Cruises, responded to this review, 9 November 2015
Thank you for your comment, we glad you enjoyed the sail on our lovely catamaran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous sunset cruise with a braai”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Wonderful trip out to the Heads in late afternoon, paused briefly to watch the waves crashing mightily in the ocean beyond, then headed over to Featherbeds Nature Preserve for a crayfish braai on the lovely patio. Coming back to twilight Knysna lights and sunset behind us. Glorious and relaxing even for non-sailors.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Heads Explorer Catamaran Day Cruises, responded to this review, 9 November 2015
Thank you for your comment, we really glad you enjoyed the cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heads Explorer Catamaran Day Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Heads Explorer Catamaran Day Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing