We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch out for the mozzies!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pledge Nature Reserve

Pledge Nature Reserve
Ranked #33 of 76 things to do in Knysna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Pledge Nature Reserve in the heart of Knysna to view indigenous plants to the area and some history. Before Knysna was officially named a town, it was made up of small settlements, one of which was Newhaven, just east of today’s Long Street – the lo g straight roadthat bisects the town and runs down to Thesen Island.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Watch out for the mozzies!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

If you are into birding Pledge is a great find. Right in the centre of town. I have never had the fortune of seeing a Knysna Turaco there but I did get to tick off a White Starred Robin on one of my trips. The first time I went I wasn't prepared for the mozzies and got nailed. If you are going in the morning make sure you are prepared for them otherwise you are guaranteed to have an awful time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice geocache site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Discovered this place through a geocache. What a pleasant surprise. Right in town, this is an easy to get to and beautiful reserve with wonderful views of the lagoon and Heads from the top of the trail. This was a nice break from our usual Knysna outings. My partner has owned a place here for 20 years and had never heard of this preserve. He was so surprise and pleased. Nice place, well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just a stroll through the woods”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I would not make a special visit to Pledge. It is a pathway cut through the woods with nameplates placed on a few of the trees. It is a very peaceful stroll on the edge of the town centre but not much more. It may improve with time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kmiller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
221 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A lovely small nature reserve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Worth a couple of hours, you get some lovely views, the bird life is excellent. A nice place to get away from it all.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CareySJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good views of the lagoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

The entrance to this has changed since we last visited but still easy to find. Interesting paths with lovely fynbos and flowers as you walk up to the crest of the hill. Once there some very good views over the town and out to the lagoon. We were very lucky to spot the elusive Loerie in amongst the trees!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pledge Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Pledge Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing