We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY, VERY GOOD”
Review of Pembreys

Pembreys
Ranked #1 of 171 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Bistro, casual country cooking including South African dishes.
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A great menu, with some diffrent dining options. Pembreys is a great resturant, offering good food, and execellant vibe and some great hospitality. Tghis was our first visit and we will deffintly be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We look forward to welcoming you back to Pembreys! Viv & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 209 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

I used to have sunday lunch with my departed wife for many many years ,I sometime go for a dinner as its a few minutes drive from Belvidere,and the food is always top class probably the best restaurant in the area

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank foodlover1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your continued support. Pete & Viv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

It is always a highlight of our Knysna visits to dine at Pembrys. The food is consistently good, well priced and the service efficient. Pete's souffles are simply irresistable - from starter to main and pudding. Don't miss it!

Thank AndrevanHeerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

You make us nervous! Now we cannot have a flop! Thanks, Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The atmosphere was warm and inviting. The ambience was assisted by the fire that was burning. My partner had the cauliflower and blue cheese soup as a starter which was nothing short of delicious for a starter I had the spinach and ricotta ravioli which was light and full of flavor. We both enjoy the lamb shank as a main which was cooked to perfection. The bread and butter pudding which we shared for dessert for just the thing to end off the perfect comfort meal. Ps. The salted caramel ice cream was better than Hagen Das.... That's just my opinion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Louwrens123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARGOLSA, Owner at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you! - Seeing the devil's horns in your photograph, really made us smile at the heading for your review! Viv and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

A big menu, huge buffet with salads, good quality ingredients toegether with a long wine list: Yet all this did not add up to a great meal. So what was missing? Professional waiters who could advise and guide, but even more import awas the absence of interesting and adventurous use of herbs and spices. We found the duck somewhat dry and bland. The lamb shank was tender but also short on flavour. Given the upmarket prices the evening was a dappointment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Hannarie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARGOLSA, Manager at Pembreys, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

We are pleased that you recognise that we use quality ingredients to produce quality food. We are surprised that you did not identify the use of fresh herbs fronm our extensive herb garden in two of our most popular dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pembreys also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Pembreys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing