We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”
Review of Elephant Walk

Elephant Walk
Ranked #21 of 76 things to do in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The well-known Elephant Walk at Diepwalle starts and ends at the Diepwalle Forest Station, the "Mecca" of the Knysna forests. The walk offers a number of route options (7km, 8km & 9km). The area is regularly visited by the Knysna elephants but the chance of sighting of these animals is very slight. Currently there are only one elephant left in the forest. The trails are open between 6h00 and 18h00
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

A bit out of the way. Good selection of farm produce with home made jams etc but were a bit pricy. Lunch in the restaurant was good although service lacked smiles and was on the slow side. Food ok but again rather expensive for for what was on offer.
Wheelchair friendly though there are some areas which may pose a challenge.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    23
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Secluded hiking trails”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a great time hiking the 7km White Elephant Walk. The trail itself was pretty well maintained, with only a few downed branches to sneak around/over. It was totally isolated and beautiful - we didn't see a single other person on the trail the entire time we were out there, and loved the isolation and natural beauty. Don't expect much from the "tea garden" at the trail head - it's a tiny restaurant with only a few options - but if you bring your own snacks and water you can have a lovely afternoon hiking in the forest.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaurav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Elephant Walk”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Super amazing experience with this gigants, big, smart and beautiful animals! You need to have this experience once in your life!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ncapanema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Personal tour!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We were lucky enough to have our own guided tour just my friend and I. The guides were so helpful we learnt a lot about elephants, had a personal photographer and had a wonderful walk with the elephants. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clarebear84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“what an awesome experience”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

did the morning walk last month and loved it. Riding on the elephants out to their feeding grounds and then just spending some time hanging out with them and feeding them, was a very special experience, since they really are gentle giants. A must-do :-)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilli567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephant Walk also viewed

 

Been to Elephant Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing