We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Turning Tides B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turning Tides B&B
Ranked #72 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

As soon as we arrived, and I saw the big balcony, I knew there was going to be trouble. I wasn't going to want to leave after just three nights, that balcony deserved at least six weeks!

Our hosts served home-made fruit cake and tea to welcome us, and chatted about what we wanted to do during our stay. They have a wide selection of brochures on activities in the area. They make a wonderful breakfast cooked to order every morning, which includes home-made marmalade and jam. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. We were not travelling with children but the place really is child-friendly, with a special cupboard of toys and games that some young visitors from abroad greatly enjoyed. The location is incredible and we loved walking around the island.

There is a fridge and microwave available for those who want to buy pre-made meals rather than eat at restaurants, and fresh milk is provided in the fridge as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huskisson312664, Owner at Turning Tides B&B, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you! It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope that we will be seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grabouw, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We have loved our stays at Turning Tides, making it the go to spot when we visit Knysna! We are so thankful to Joan and Ian for a wonderful experience, beautiful food, wonderful suggestions on places to go, and for even organizing for us to visit some of the local schools!! They are wonderful people and deserve all the business they can get! Can't wait to come back and see them again soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Great stay, with tremendous hosts. What tremendous times!
Location is very good, on Leisure Isle. 3 minutes to the beach, lots of space for the kids, good restaurants nearby. Bliss!
Would gladly return - and have done many, many times...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrishwhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have now visited Turning Tides, like other visitors, several times and sincerely hope we will be able to return. Joan and Ian Huskisson are extremely helpful and hospitable hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We have now stayed in each one of the bedrooms and all have their special magic. Leisure Isle is quite unique - whether you want to cycle, walk, or jog around the island, everyone is so friendly. Alternatively, you can just stroll, sit on one of the well placed benches, relax and watch the world go by. If security is a worrying feature of staying in South Africa, banish your thoughts on Leisure Isle, Knysna. No problem here! This Bed & Breakfast really offers the best - a good night's rest, peace & quiet in a safe environment, and a wonderful breakfast! Don't miss it!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely with their own special magic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I guess our regular visits says it all? It's become our home-from-home in South Africa.
For us, it begins with the private causway onto Leisure Island - the tidal lagoon, the views, walks around the island, its verdancy, birdlife and tranquility. For your hosts, Joan and Ian, nothing is too much trouble for their guests. Every room has a balcolny upstairs around the large comunial sitting and breakfast room. The whole guest house has a spacious, raised, quality feel. Breakfasts are a real treat in this friendly, colonial styled building. But for my wife and I, staying with these lovely folk at Turning Tides - and on this uniquely exclusive island - is nothing short of pure luxury.
Ken & Anne Peck.

Room Tip: Make sure you book early - all the rooms a good. Spacious car parking too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Joan and Ian gave us a most warm welcome in their most beautiful colonial home, with a cup of tea and a slice of Joan's amazing fruit cake.
The house, bedroom and bathroom were spotless, roomy and tastefully furnished. We had our cup of tea on our huge balcony overlooking the lagoon.
It was a short car trip into Knysna.
Breakfast was a jolly affair with Joan introducing the other guests to each other. An excellent breakfast.
Ian and Joan had thought of everything and were very helpful on what to do and see.
My husband and I would stay here again and recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the lagoon but all three rooms would be lovely and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed here with my wife a while ago now but must say that this place is fantastic! We were welcomed by the owners and made to feel very comfortable. The location is beautiful and the rooms are just perfect. Will definitely be back when in SA again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chri55ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Isola Bella
Isola Bella
#64 of 126 in Knysna
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vue Grande
Vue Grande
#32 of 103 in Knysna
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cuningham's Island Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bollard Bay House
Bollard Bay House
#45 of 126 in Knysna
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Knysna Belle
The Knysna Belle
#34 of 126 in Knysna
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
African Breeze Guesthouse Leisure Isle Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turning Tides B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turning Tides B&B

Property: Turning Tides B&B
Address: 19 Woodbourne Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the waters edge of beautiful Leisure Isle in the Knysna lagoon. Safe walks on the level, Safe swimming beaches in close proximity. Ideal centre from which to explore the Garden Route. Restaurants in walking distance.Very secure.Bird watchers paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Turning Tides B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing