We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very familiar atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guadeloupe Self Catering Apartments
Ranked #45 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Very familiar atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night but would have loved to stay longer here. From the top cottage you have a wonderful view over the lagoon. You can pick your own lemons, herbs an salad in the garden and directly prepare them in the well equipped kitchen. The hosts and their food are incredible. So make sure you'll be there on a Wednesday when they open their huge kitchen school for an A+ dinner. It's the familiar atmosphere that makes Guadeloupe a very special experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Friendly Owners, wonderful, clean Self Catering units, friendly staff and amazing views over the Knysna Lagoon and forests.
Home made biscuits on arrival, available from the Kilzers Kitchen Basics on the premises.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NellaN27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed 2 nights and unfortunately missed the cooking experience which is on Wednesdays but I did get a glimpse of the kitchen which looked nothing short of awesome! Our appartment was The Lighthouse which from what I could see has the best view. The appartment is very nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. We loved our stay there and oh yes don't forget the pool - very nice pool area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

I exchanged several emails with Jenny and spoken to her twice on the phone. She recommended the Shoe room apartment which I subsequently reserved with a deposit and received confirmation.
I was therefore very surprised when my sister and I arrived at Guadeloupe and were obviously not expected. Albin told us that the Shoe room apartment had been booked by someone else but showed it to us and we liked it a lot. He also showed us the Tea apartment which is very similar (with an extra bedroom) but the decor did not appeal as much. He asked us to take the Tea apartment as we had only booked for 2 nights and the other people for a week. Only when I showed my confirmation did he offer the Shoe apartment but he made us feel bad by saying that the other people stayed there every year. We therefore took the Tea apartment as we didn't want to spoil someone else's holiday.
The view is slightly better from Shoe but both apartments would have great views of the lagoon and Heads if the trees in front were trimmed.
There is noise from the N2 whilst sitting on the balcony but we did not notice it when inside although we did keep the doors closed as Albin says monkeys can be a nusiance.
The apartments are well equipped for self-catering but the Tea apartment (which sleeps 6) only had a small 2 seater sofa and no other comfortable chair. There were 6 chairs for the dining table. I think 6 people in the apartment would be a real squeeze.
Two other small gripes are that the Hand and Shower gel are fastened down by the hand basin so cannot be used in the shower or bath and there is no list of available TV channels so one has to go through all the unavailable channels trying to find something to watch.
But I loved the bed! I was in the mezzanine room and my bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and I would love a mattress like that at home. The duvet, although synthetic, was very snug and cosy.
The swimming pool looked very nice but had a lot of leaves and sand in it. To be fair the weather had been very windy.
I have perhaps harped on the negative points but feel Jenny and Albin should be aware of them. I was very disappointed that Jenny did not introduce herself to us in view of the obvious mix up in bookings.
All that said, we enjoyed our stay at Guadeloupe and Albin is an amiable host.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kajado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

We recently stayed in the Bottom Cottage and has a fabulous time! The service we received from Jenny, Albin and the team was unobtrusive but efficient - they resolved any queries/issues we had immediately. The cottage itself was perfect for us as we had a 1 year old and needed a ground floor one. Very cosy with all the amenities and a great little outside area. It didn't have a view of the lagoon, but there are those rooms available for those who want that.

The location is up a hill a little away from the main town, which suited us just fine.

It's a pity we weren't there for the Wednesday Cook and Look!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeolan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Overall a good option if you're looking for self catering accommodation in Knysna. Facilities are good, rooms are clean and well equipped with above average finishings. Views over the lagoon are fabulous and can be enjoyed from your balcony but the N2 traffic noise does intrude a bit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

What an unforgetable evening we shared with friends when going to the Cook and Look offered on most Wednesday evenings at Guadeloupe! The food was top class and cullinary experience yet to be topped! The generous portions and great ambience along with the very entertaining and talented hosts, Jenny and Albin, makes this one of the "must do's" when in Knysna!
The Lemoncello was to die for and the smoked beef awesome! The service was fabulous and attentive.
The meal was great value and the setting very unique. We enjoyed our wine and could sit and watch the "artists at work" in the kitchen while being told what we were going to enjoy! Very unique and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
1.2 mi away
Hillview Self-Catering Apartments
0.1 mi away
Salt River lodge
Salt River lodge
#53 of 100 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Greenfire Knysna Lodge
Greenfire Knysna Lodge
#37 of 100 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laguna Grove
Laguna Grove
#9 of 100 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Overmeer Guest House
Overmeer Guest House
#33 of 126 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guadeloupe Self Catering Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guadeloupe Self Catering Apartments

Property: Guadeloupe Self Catering Apartments
Address: 3 Roos Bolton Crescent | Knysna Heights, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Guadeloupe Self Catering Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Graded accommodation situated on a hilltop overlooking the famous Knysna lagoon - with the added attraction of a custom built cookery school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guadeloupe Self Catering Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing