We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5 minute drive for an excellent meal!”
Review of Le Maquis

Le Maquis
Ranked #1 of 172 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In the Heart of Knysna, enjoy French Cuisine by French Chefs in a cosy, relaxed but intimate place. Only 30 seats, so booking is essential NB : Our liquor licence is in process, so please bring your own wines
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We almost passed on this restaurant due to recent comments, but we are so glad we took local advice and picked it for our restaurant choice during our night in Knysna - on first impressions this is a fabulous restaurant in a fantastic setting and with a beautiful view. We were spoilt for choice with the menu and were grateful for the advice and recommendations of the waiter (the pork belly is very tasty!!). Our night ended in front of the open fire with desert and a lovely chat with very helpful waiter Luke - this restaurant is definitely worth a visit and a relaxing change from the noisy crowded Waterfront. Don't hesitate!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A_Max_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 266 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were four and everyone's food was dreadful. My rabbit was dry and tasteless, the polenta was rubbish, two others at the table had the oxtail. It was light brown in colour, presented like army food and tasteless and the forth person had what was supposed to be crispy pork with mash potato. Crispy it was not and the mash tasted and looked like nothing I've ever seen before. The service was non-existent, we waited over 45 minutes for starters, with only two other tables there, and over an hour for our mains. All the plates were sent back with more than half its contents and no discount, coffee, dessert was given and we still got charged R60 corkage for two bottles of wine. We won't be rushing back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes B, Owner at Le Maquis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Jose,

Thank you for taking the time to review Die Gieter. I understand that your food was not up to standard, which is a real pity as the dishes, which you ordered, are our most popular dishes and the feedback on these dishes are really good. Whilst no excuse, the chef is new, and has since undergone extensive training to ensure that there will be no re-occurrence of such an event.

Having said that, we would really like the opportunity to make this up to you and your friends and would love for you to join us again for a complimentary meal. We will be in contact and hopefully you will give Die Gieter another chance.

I wish you a wonderful week.

Speak soon.

Kind regards

Dalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

After quite a few bad experiences we were advised that this restaurant had improved on service and food. We ended up with the worst experience in this restaurant again. 1.5hrs before starters arrived which all 4 were not good. 1hr later our mains arrived. Oxtail -tasteless & full of uncooked fat. Rabbit - burned. Pork Belly was so dry we thought it had been carved last week. The waiter had told us that it had crackling which it did not, but as for the mash potato, this was a laugh. We could not decide what this was - my husband thought it was some sort of pap, our other guest thought it was overboiled cauliflower mash. There was no management around and after the plates went back to the kitchen uneaten the Chef arrived at the table and enquire what was wrong with the food. We asked her if she had tasted the food and she answered she had not !!! The R700 we paid for this meal i feel was just as if the money had been stolen from us.

Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes B, Owner at Le Maquis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Beverly,

Thank you for taking the time to review Die Gieter. I understand that your food was not up to standard, which is a real pity as the dishes, which you ordered, are our most popular dishes and the feedback on these dishes are really good. Whilst no excuse, the chef is new, and has since undergone extensive training to ensure that there will be no re-occurrence of such an event.

I am somewhat surprised by your statement that you were not offered any compensation as our manager phoned me immediately when your complaints were received and I told her to offer you discount or to offer you a voucher to come and eat with us again - I will certainly investigate this.

Having said that, we would really like the opportunity to make this up to you and your friends and would love for you to join us again for a complimentary meal. We will be in contact and hopefully you will give Die Gieter another chance.

I wish you a wonderful week.

Speak soon.

Kind regards

Dalene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Excellent setting, great view, friendly staff, great service and excellent food! Not even expensive for the quality of the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We discovered Die Gieter Deli and had a really enjoyable breakfast . Although the restaurant was very quiet ( Tuesday mid morning) the staff were very friendly and nice music added to the ambiance. The evening menu sounds very interesting and we will certainly be giving it a try on our next visit to Knysna.

Thank Gae38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Maquis also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Le Maquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing