We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good value for money”
Review of Fish Eagle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knysna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fish Eagle Lodge
Ranked #45 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Overall good value for money”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed at the Fish Eagle Lodge 25th - 29th March 2013.

Location: 5 minutes’ drive from the centre of Knysna, with nice views over the lagoon. Being up on the hills, you have a feeling of being in a secluded spot, although you could hear traffic on the N2 below you when windows were open.

Room: Spacious and clean, but dated, e.g. dark decor, old fashioned TV and unfortunately no WIFI or Internet in the rooms. Good sized safe in room.

Bathroom: Spacious and clean, but decor also a bit dated.

Breakfast: Very nice continental selection and every morning a choice of a cooked breakfast to order with nice touches on the side.

Hospitality of hosts: Very good and attentive, given recommendations and always accessible.

Overall good value for money, but could be improved by some modernisation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOCIRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Krefeld, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed two nights at Fish Eagle Lodge. We had a nice and clean room with a fireplace, view of the lagoon and a patio. The whole property is well kept, with a nice pool (again with a great view of the lagoon). Chris and Gelia, who speak German, were very cordial and attentive, with good recommendations for activities in the area. The breakfast was sumptuous. Most guests were German. Unfortunately, the N2 highway passing at the bottom of the hill does make a little noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuno W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Wonderful hosts Chris and Gelia, great breakfast spread, comfortable rooms and quiet location on a hilltop overlooking the inland part of the lagoon. Next time I'm in Knysna I wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We will always remember our lovely stay at Fish Eagle Lodge, close enough to the action of Knysna waterfront and far away enough to be an oasis to come home to. The lodges on the property are in the style of wooden chalets and our Crowned Eagle room had a balcony with a view and interesting African decor inside. Our hosts Chris and Gelia were charming, friendly and justly proud of the delicious breakfasts prepared and presented by them. Their recommendations for restaurants and day trips were excellent too. Chris's hearty laughter and Gelia's quiet warm smile made it really difficult to leave them. What a relief for us to have Chris carry our rather heavy luggage to our room when we arrived and pack it into our car when we were leaving. This couple genuinely have their guests' comfort and interests at heart. We strongly recommend a stay at Fish Eagle Lodge on a visit to the Garden Route.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keepongoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at Fish Eagle Lodge during the off season (September) and thoroughly enjoyed it. The proprietors were extremely gracious and helpful; Klaus was a wealth of information about things to see and do in the area, and the best routes to take everywhere. As a result, we saw some amazing sights that we otherwise would have missed. We were there for three nights and were either the only guests or one of two couples. Nevertheless, we got the full, delicious breakfast treatment every morning - an abundant cold buffet of fruits, cheeses, cereals etc etc and a hot breakfast prepared to order by Klaus. We had a very nice end room, overlooking the water, with a fireplace and jacuzzi, as well as a refrigerator, dishes and "kitchen" sink. Every day the housekeeping staff laid a fire for us in the fireplace, which was very helpful since neither of us is very good at this. I would definitely recommend Fish Eagle, and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.8 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
1.4 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
155 reviews
3.0 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
273 reviews
5.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Eagle Lodge

Property: Fish Eagle Lodge
Address: Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing