We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Ranked #12 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Jembjo’s. The room we had was nice, comfortable & spacious although it could be a little bit noisy as it was next to the door, the reception and shared bathrooms. Mandy wasn’t around but Karl & Fraser (the friendly dog!) were really welcoming and even organised a braai for us one night. He really went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed our stay and gave us lots of advice on things to do. This place is great value and even includes secure parking, breakfast & wifi!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stinaandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

When my partner and I arrived we were greeted by Karl and Mandy, owners of the backpackers, they were incredibly welcoming and friendly. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable, we couldn't wish for any better. In fact, of all the backpackers we stayed in, jembjos was without doubt the best! Thank you Karl and Mandy for a really great time in Knysna and for making us feel soo welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18upmillclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We booked three nights in Jembjos, but ended up staying there for a week. It's a great place and the owners are amazing. We had a nice double room; very spacious, bright and clean. The kitchen is huge, breakfast is nice, bathrooms are very clean and there's free wi-fi. The owners are extremely friendly and gave us great advice about the best places to visit. We loved every moment of our stay in Knysna.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Great location with quick safe walk to town, restaurants and bars. Double room with en suite was perfect, comfortable, clean and new. We were made to feel welcome by Carl and Mandy whose local knowledge helped us in our travels. They advised us of some great places to go and booked us into restaurants and day activities. The lounge, garden and kitchen areas were well equiped and allowed us to feel relaxed and at home without feeling intrusive. Easily to find and accesible with parking available.
Highly recommneded and will definitely go back! Do stop by on your travels through Knysna!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Location is great, easy walk to the waterfront, main road and to the supermarket. Being owner run makes it a cut above the rest. They have complimentary wi-fi and breakfast. Rooms and bathrooms are neat and clean. It is the perfect place for any traveller. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindivandyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

A great location to stay, only minutes to the main road and waterfront. Owners are very helpful with booking activities and great advice on thing to see and do!
The place is recently renovated, clean and has all amendities needed, including breakfast, and its just as affordable as a cheap backpackers! Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Knysner!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GezD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 703fatimaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.4 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#15 of 30 in Knysna
244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#30 of 106 in Knysna
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#34 of 127 in Knysna
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Laguna Grove
Laguna Grove
#11 of 106 in Knysna
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers

Address: 4 Queen Street | Lower Central, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: £7 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of the Garden Route, we warmly welcome you to relax & enjoy Jembjo's of Knysna. Our boutique backpackers/lodge, is a little bit of luxury that is kind on your pocket & we take pride in making sure you feel at 'home'. We have a range of accommodation to suit every budget, from Dorm beds to de-luxe family en-suite rooms. We are perfectly located in the heart of lower-central Knysna & are just a 2 minute walk away from both the 'Waterfront' & town. - Knysna is South Africa's best kept secret - so come check it out... Book directly with us - 3 nights or more for 10% discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing