We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Ranked #12 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

the owners are truly kind, patient and generous. we're staying here In a huge group including small children and they're happy to let us have the run of the mill, they treat the kids with the upmost kindness and even let us walk their sweet little dog this evening. They're also extremely helpful with helping you find things to do!
The rooms are ultra clean and comfy, it's possibly the safest place we've stayed in South Africa and you feel so at home. thank you Mandy!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mugglesmigoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    47
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
66
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san jose
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

There isn't a more hospitable, friendly, comfortable to stay on the Garden Route than Jembjo's Knysna Lodge. The price and location can't be beat and The Waterfront, with cafe's, shops, and restaurants are just a short stroll away. Cozy duvets on comfy beds, a hammock to rest in, nightly braai, and complementary self-serve breakfast of fresh fruit, toast, and eggs make Jembjo's a cut above the rest. The owners Karl and Mandy are incredibly generous. They assisted with bookings and suggested activities and itineraries nearby and along the Garden Route and made us feel like family. It's the best backpackers we have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fosterkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Great experience, beds are comfortable and hosts are very friendly offering great tips. Breakfast included though you have to cook eggs yourself. They have full kitchen facilities and the use of their new Brai.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

This lodge is amazing, we fell upon it purely by accident but what a find. It ahs the best location out of all the lodges in Knysna as everywhere (I mean everywhere ) is within walking distance. Not only this but the lodge is disabled friendly. My husband is in a wheelchair and we atyed in two different kinds of rooms and both were great. Finding places to stay in Africa is a real nightmare, but this was amazing. To top it all the hosts are fantastic and cant do enough for their guests, they also have unrivalled knowledge of Knysna and the surrounding areas. Well done Karl n Mandy u are on to a winner. Also they have the most amazing cute dog called Fraser, I promise you will want to take him with you , we did !!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but the en suites in the courtyard are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
190 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Although we only stayed one night, we were made to feel welcome by Mandy and Karl. The room was as described, although it was a bit a squeeze compared to what we're used to, but you can't complain about the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonannitsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Mandy and Karl have achieved a friendly welcoming hostel. It is not too large with just one dorm room and they are really considerate in splitting up groups when they are not busy. We had a great 2 night stay and Mandy even cooked a curry on the second night which was a feast for just 40 Rand per person!

Great place to stay with great advice. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed in Jembjos for one night in a double room with en suite. The hostel has a lovely laid back vibe and a very cute little dog called Fraser (not a noisy dog so don't let that put you off!). The rate included free breakfast and wifi, and we felt our stay was great value for money. Karl was very friendly and helpful on check in - he gave us a lot of useful info in order for us to make best use of our short stay. Our room was quite small but very cosy and the bed was ridiculously comfortable. The room looked out onto the garden area and the other guests were very considerate of others, with noise being kept to a minimum after 10pm. The property is in a safe street with parking area outside, and is within a 5 min walk of restaurants etc. Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.4 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#17 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
6.4 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#32 of 100 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knysna Backpackers
Knysna Backpackers
#27 of 100 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers

Property: Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Address: 4 Queen Street | Lower Central, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of the Garden Route, we warmly welcome you to relax & enjoy Jembjo's of Knysna. Our boutique backpackers/lodge, is a little bit of luxury that is kind on your pocket & we take pride in making sure you feel at 'home'. We have a range of accommodation to suit every budget, from Dorm beds to de-luxe family en-suite rooms. We are perfectly located in the heart of lower-central Knysna & are just a 2 minute walk away from both the 'Waterfront' & town. - Knysna is South Africa's best kept secret - so come check it out... Book directly with us - 3 nights or more for 10% discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing