We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Ranked #12 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal place to stay!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We felt right at home as soon as we arrived at Jembjos...Karl and Fraser the dog (who was very hard to spot, owing to his awesome camouflage outfit...) welcomed us straight away, and Karl gave us a handy map and a ton of good advice on where to go for all our adventure/leisure needs. Staying in Jembjos made us feel like we were just chilling at a friend's house, as Karl and Mandy are so friendly and involved in the life of the hostel. The dorm had character and was clean and cosy, and there was secure off-street parking for our hire car and a brilliant kitchen. It's location makes it the perfect base for going out the beach and to explore the town/restaurants. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    49
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
68
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

I had the nicest time during my stay at Jembjo's. Only Karl was there, (his wife Mandy was away) but he and his sweet little dog Fraser made me feel right at home.

As I was getting checked in, Karl asked what I was interested in doing while in Knysna and gave me some really good suggestions for how best to explore the town and surrounding area. When I expressed interest in one of the options - a sailing trip out to the Knysna Heads - he immediately rang them up and found out that a boat was going on out within the half hour and even drove me down to the Waterfront to ensure I would make it!

On my second night there Karl fired up the braai and he, I, and two other guests had a lovely evening grilling, eating, drinking and chatting about our travels. Karl has travelled all over Africa and was full of great stories about his time on this amazing continent.

The backpackers itself is lovely, clean and kept up with loving care. The kitchen is gorgeous, and the free breakfast each morning was a lovely extra.

This is really the place to stay if you are tired of soul-less backpackers and want a more personal experience during your stay in Knysna. Karl and Mandy (and Fraser!) will treat you right!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelleyabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Karl, Mandy and famous dog Fraser give genuine care and hospitality in Knysna very comfy home from home for travellers needing rest and inspiration. The dorm bunks are warm, neat and clean, bathrooms spotless, private rooms lovely and outside garden patio area with cozy BBQ area a delight for chilling out and sharing travel stories with other guests and owners Karl and Mandy who have travelled and explored overland throughout Africa and Middle East

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

Jembjos is a homey, awesome, owner-operated hostel; they do have lovely private rooms or dorm rooms--one is a 14 bed dorm (really more like a 10 bed with a 4 bed connected, which we stayed in) with lockers for your backpack. Not much privacy but good way to save money. They have a nice free self-cater breakfast, nice kitchen, outdoor braii area, free wifi, lovely communal area with tv and couches, quiet, great location 2 blocks from waterfront and a 7 minute walk to Thesen Islands. The bathroom in the 14 bed dorm was a bit odd--they really need doors on there. They tried to make the bathrooms roomier by having bead curtains instead of doors, but doors are really necessary when toilets are only 6 feet from people's beds. The dorm room was completely full but people were fairly respectful of quiet hours. The owners live there and are there all day, so you get the idea immediately that is is not a super loud place to party, but is a very nice place to stay for a couple of nights.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kpcharlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We spent 3 nights there, and it was really relaxing and refreshing! The lodge is well located, a short walk to the waterfront, the lagoon, supermarkets and stores. Mandy, Karl and Fraser (the lovely dog) were kind and helpful and made us almost feel at home. Mandy was kind to pick us up late at night at the station. The dorms were clean and the kitchen was well equipped (they provide an awesome free breakfast for travelers with bread, eggs, coffee and tea, all you can eat!). We recommend Jembjo's, nice hostel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with 2 young children (6 & 9) and had a truly wonderful time. Our hosts Karl and Mandy were very helpful and welcoming. We enjoyed 2 good braais here and even with it been full there was very little noise after 10pm so it was easy to get a good nights sleep! If / when we go back to kynsna this will definitely be the place we stay in.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sally V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Jembjo’s Knysna Lodge is a centrally located backpackers with legendary staff, who was extremely helpful and assisted us in organizing our further travel route, providing us with valuable advice. Knysna itself has a lot to explore, and your activities can be booked for you at the lodge for no cost. Please say hi to Karl and his gorgeous partner and lovely Fraser the dog for us and enjoy your stay :)

Room Tip: The private room was clean, quiet and just right for us, whereas dorms are close to the bathroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kl3tk1na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
6.4 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.1 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#33 of 103 in Knysna
212 reviews
14.2 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 20 in Sedgefield
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers

Property: Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Address: 4 Queen Street | Lower Central, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of the Garden Route, we warmly welcome you to relax & enjoy Jembjo's of Knysna. Our boutique backpackers/lodge, is a little bit of luxury that is kind on your pocket & we take pride in making sure you feel at 'home'. We have a range of accommodation to suit every budget, from Dorm beds to de-luxe family en-suite rooms. We are perfectly located in the heart of lower-central Knysna & are just a 2 minute walk away from both the 'Waterfront' & town. - Knysna is South Africa's best kept secret - so come check it out... Book directly with us - 3 nights or more for 10% discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing