We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Ranked #12 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Excellent from arrival to departure. Friendly welcome and introduction to the hostel and the surroundings. Room was clean and comfortable and so was the shared bathroom and lounge. Kitchen was well stocked with all utensils, and we were invited to bring along things to put on the braai/BBQ that Karl lit for the night. We felt right at home with Karl and Mandy. Quality was amazing and was great value for money. Thanks, Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanDan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

We felt right at home as soon as we arrived at Jembjos...Karl and Fraser the dog (who was very hard to spot, owing to his awesome camouflage outfit...) welcomed us straight away, and Karl gave us a handy map and a ton of good advice on where to go for all our adventure/leisure needs. Staying in Jembjos made us feel like we were just chilling at a friend's house, as Karl and Mandy are so friendly and involved in the life of the hostel. The dorm had character and was clean and cosy, and there was secure off-street parking for our hire car and a brilliant kitchen. It's location makes it the perfect base for going out the beach and to explore the town/restaurants. Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

I had the nicest time during my stay at Jembjo's. Only Karl was there, (his wife Mandy was away) but he and his sweet little dog Fraser made me feel right at home.

As I was getting checked in, Karl asked what I was interested in doing while in Knysna and gave me some really good suggestions for how best to explore the town and surrounding area. When I expressed interest in one of the options - a sailing trip out to the Knysna Heads - he immediately rang them up and found out that a boat was going on out within the half hour and even drove me down to the Waterfront to ensure I would make it!

On my second night there Karl fired up the braai and he, I, and two other guests had a lovely evening grilling, eating, drinking and chatting about our travels. Karl has travelled all over Africa and was full of great stories about his time on this amazing continent.

The backpackers itself is lovely, clean and kept up with loving care. The kitchen is gorgeous, and the free breakfast each morning was a lovely extra.

This is really the place to stay if you are tired of soul-less backpackers and want a more personal experience during your stay in Knysna. Karl and Mandy (and Fraser!) will treat you right!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelleyabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Karl, Mandy and famous dog Fraser give genuine care and hospitality in Knysna very comfy home from home for travellers needing rest and inspiration. The dorm bunks are warm, neat and clean, bathrooms spotless, private rooms lovely and outside garden patio area with cozy BBQ area a delight for chilling out and sharing travel stories with other guests and owners Karl and Mandy who have travelled and explored overland throughout Africa and Middle East

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Jembjos is a homey, awesome, owner-operated hostel; they do have lovely private rooms or dorm rooms--one is a 14 bed dorm (really more like a 10 bed with a 4 bed connected, which we stayed in) with lockers for your backpack. Not much privacy but good way to save money. They have a nice free self-cater breakfast, nice kitchen, outdoor braii area, free wifi, lovely communal area with tv and couches, quiet, great location 2 blocks from waterfront and a 7 minute walk to Thesen Islands. The bathroom in the 14 bed dorm was a bit odd--they really need doors on there. They tried to make the bathrooms roomier by having bead curtains instead of doors, but doors are really necessary when toilets are only 6 feet from people's beds. The dorm room was completely full but people were fairly respectful of quiet hours. The owners live there and are there all day, so you get the idea immediately that is is not a super loud place to party, but is a very nice place to stay for a couple of nights.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank kpcharlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We spent 3 nights there, and it was really relaxing and refreshing! The lodge is well located, a short walk to the waterfront, the lagoon, supermarkets and stores. Mandy, Karl and Fraser (the lovely dog) were kind and helpful and made us almost feel at home. Mandy was kind to pick us up late at night at the station. The dorms were clean and the kitchen was well equipped (they provide an awesome free breakfast for travelers with bread, eggs, coffee and tea, all you can eat!). We recommend Jembjo's, nice hostel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed here with 2 young children (6 & 9) and had a truly wonderful time. Our hosts Karl and Mandy were very helpful and welcoming. We enjoyed 2 good braais here and even with it been full there was very little noise after 10pm so it was easy to get a good nights sleep! If / when we go back to kynsna this will definitely be the place we stay in.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Sally V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knysna
0.4 mi away
Knysna Backpackers
Knysna Backpackers
#28 of 111 in Knysna
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#29 of 111 in Knysna
234 reviews
14.2 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 24 in Sedgefield
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#15 of 75 in Plettenberg Bay
127 reviews
6.3 mi away
Elalini Backpackers
Elalini Backpackers
#22 of 111 in Knysna
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inyathi Guest Lodge
Inyathi Guest Lodge
#30 of 111 in Knysna
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers

Address: 4 Queen Street | Lower Central, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: £19 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of the Garden Route, we warmly welcome you to relax & enjoy Jembjo's of Knysna. Our boutique backpackers/lodge, is a little bit of luxury that is kind on your pocket & we take pride in making sure you feel at 'home'. We have a range of accommodation to suit every budget, from Dorm beds to de-luxe family en-suite rooms. We are perfectly located in the heart of lower-central Knysna & are just a 2 minute walk away from both the 'Waterfront' & town. - Knysna is South Africa's best kept secret - so come check it out... Book directly with us - 3 nights or more for 10% discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing