We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Ranked #12 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed in the dorm room and it was the cleanest, best equipped and most comfortable stay I had during my whole trip. Fantastic owners. Great breakfast. It really does feel like your home away from home. Karl went out of his way to help me book activities and Mandy is really friendly and helpful too. I'd recommend Jembjo's without hesitation to anyone travelling through Knysna.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nida J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

super nice, clean and cozy place to stay. Mandy, Karl (the owner) and Gemma made Jembjos and Knysna my favorite place throughout my 3 week trip to South Africa this month. This place feels like home away from home, because it's so cozy, clean and owned by those sweet, kind and incredibly helpful people, even if you ask them to help you rearrange your trips 50 times ;-)

It's ideal for people traveling alone (cause you meet spirits like yours there) or on a budget but don't wanna stay in the typical crowded and often loud backpackers, cause it's rather quiet and and gives you a break, but still is within walking distance to everything you might want and still has enough possibilities for braai or meeting new people.
Would always stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilli567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We really liked this place.  

We were given a warm welcome by Jodie. We had a double room on the ground floor which was clean and comfortable.  The shared bathroom on the ground floor was a bit small but had a hot shower.  The owners were very friendly and gave us lots of recommendations of things to do and places to eat.  We just wish we could have stayed longer.  

Location wise the place was good - about 10 minutes walk to the quay and the island.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The place is in a very good location, the room was excellent and the breakfast good also. Nice atmosphere and very helpful, skilled and nice owners! I accidentally left my selfphone there and they mailed it to me in our next destination. Thank you for that again!! High recommendations for Jembjo's!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed for two nights superb location owners bent over backwards to help in anyway. Really nice homely feel with a massif lounge area, very well decorated big kitchen with all the equipment. The owners put on a braai (BBQ) the first night and we just brought or own meet which was awesome. Can highly recommend this as a must stay lodge!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonoStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in Jembjos on our way along the garden route. Our double ensuite room was good, comfy beds and towels were provided. The free breakfast was plenty for us, with fruit, toast eggs etc. Nice communal area for watching tv and using the free wifi as well.
The owners were very welcoming and recommended us a couple of restaurants nearby and the whale & dolphin watching - well worth the money for how close we were able to go to the dolphins! They were also able to recommend places to see for the rest of the trip which was very useful. Would definitely stay here again if we visited Knysna in future! Thank you Karl & Mandy

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hj59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a double room. Really liked the friendliness of the staff and especially the owner. He gave us some good advise for this to do (also oudside of Knysna) and made us feel very welcome! The free breakfast was great and the only thing that we didn't really enjoy was that our matrass seemed to have a hole in it and that we were quite far away from the bathroom facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesperahsmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.4 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#16 of 30 in Knysna
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#30 of 107 in Knysna
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Laguna Grove
Laguna Grove
#11 of 107 in Knysna
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knysna Backpackers
Knysna Backpackers
#27 of 107 in Knysna
100 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers

Address: 4 Queen Street | Lower Central, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Knysna
Price Range: £8 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of the Garden Route, we warmly welcome you to relax & enjoy Jembjo's of Knysna. Our boutique backpackers/lodge, is a little bit of luxury that is kind on your pocket & we take pride in making sure you feel at 'home'. We have a range of accommodation to suit every budget, from Dorm beds to de-luxe family en-suite rooms. We are perfectly located in the heart of lower-central Knysna & are just a 2 minute walk away from both the 'Waterfront' & town. - Knysna is South Africa's best kept secret - so come check it out... Book directly with us - 3 nights or more for 10% discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing