We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
36
11
6
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
11
6
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspacious cabinamazing viewslonger stayestatedeckforestsoulfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have been to Lulama more than once and I always find it such a great getaway from city life. Tranquil and pretty!

If I am to be picky, the braai and the oven can do with an upgrade. But otherwise a super spot.

Jason

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Because of my raving about the resort, my friends insisted we spend a long weekend at Phantom River View Knysna to see what the fuss was all about. As this was my third time and their first, I was very excited to show off the place. To my disappointment, the cabin was not very clean as one would expect from such an establishment. The TV cabinet looked as if it was not dusted for months.The mats when moved had thick thick dust underneath. The crockery was dirty with food still stuck to them - we had to wash dishes before we used them. The ledge at the top of the staircase (cabin no 16) was also thick with dust. When we pushed the two single beds together in the fourth bedroom, the nightfrill was covered in dirt and dust! There were about 3 light bulbs not working and the fireplace was falling apart - every time one closed the door, the fire would go out. I was not happy and very disappointed to say the least.
Lorna Jordaan. Kuils River CP

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lorna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Lovely place, quiet and relaxing; just wish there were some sharp knives!!
Even though there were some minor niggles it will not be the last time I stay at one of the cabins at Phantom River View.
The cabin is well furnished and the beds very comfortable, just what you need to get away from the rush.



  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed in Cabin 16. We were 5 adults and 5 kids and found the cabin very spacious. The views from every room and the deck was magnificent. Although there are other cabins around one cannot here anyone else. The kids enjoyed venturing into the nearby forest. Our only gripes are that the braai area has no light and that there is no wash basin downstairs are all the bathrooms are upstairs. This did not deter us and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NazParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We booked mid to end December and paid a price. Nice setting but dirty and dated taking two days to clean after we complained. Old cutlery, plates, toaster, Weber completely disintegrating, deck boards broken. No vacuum cleaner, we bought one...no fans, we bought three. Staff complained they are used at caretaker's unit, not able to clean, pool hose broken. Found and killed rat in dishwasher, no tumble dryer. Clothes rewashed as washing machine seals full of dirt, old fridge with broken panels, smelly towels. Strange coincidence the review by Penny, our agent was also Penny from Cape Town who could not get her boss to phone us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJV_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lize B, Manager at Phantom River View Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for your review. We received our 4 star grading certificate from the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa in November 2012. The only suggestions were that we supply a flat screen TV and replace the plastic sun loungers with wooden. We undertook to replace both these items prior to your arrival. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our cabins as well as keeping them to their 4 star standard.
December and January are our busiest times with clients arriving and leaving on the same day. This requires swift action from our dedicated staff who have only 4 hours to do a complete clean and linen change.
We accommodated you by allowing you to arrive 2 hours earlier than the check-in time on the understanding that the cleaners would still be busy. Unfortunately you did not allow them time to complete their duties before pointing out various items that were unclean and which you were dissatisfied with. The caretaker does a pre-arrival inspection once the cleaners have completed their duties. He had not been able to do the pre-arrival inspection prior to your arrival as the clean was not yet completed.
The standard of our cutlery, plates, toaster etc. are of 4 Star quality. We are a self-catering establishment, and suffer frequent breakages and losses. As such we do not stock absolute top of the range items as the cost of replacement would have a negative effect on our competitive rates.
All bedrooms have fans in the cupboards. The pool hose and Weber were immediately replaced as were all the items that you were dissatisfied with including cutlery and glasses. We were unaware that the vacuum cleaner we provide had a mechanical problem and refunded you for the purchase of the new one.
The cabins are situated in a Nature Reserve and we do sometimes have field mice and other creatures making their way in, but we do our utmost to ensure our furry friends are instructed to leave prior to guest’s arrival. We have had one opportunistic mouse in Cabin 16 that has been spotted by prior guests and has evaded us for some time. I have spoken to my caretaker and he was not informed of a rat in the dishwasher which he found strange as you pointed out every other item that you were dissatisfied with.
The washing machine is used frequently and we have not had any other guest comments in this regard, however we have now checked and maintained the seals as well as the fridge. You did not mention these items to the caretaker who I believe was present when you were doing a load of laundry. We never advertised a tumble dryer for this cabin so it should not have been expected. The climate in the area is such that clothing hung on the washing line will be dry in no time at all. We are also in the process of getting a “Green” grading and as such we try not to encourage the wasteful use of electricity.
With respect to the towels, we have checked our on-site manager’s washing machine/detergent and found it to be in perfect working order. The caretaker was not informed that you were dissatisfied with the towels. We have never before had a comment with respect to the smell of the towels.
The Penny J that wrote the review prior to you is a frequent visitor at Phantom River View. Penny is a business traveller that we accommodate at least 4 times a year. She bears no relation to Penny who is our Reservations Manager.
The owner of the property was made aware of your complaints and accommodated you by allowing the purchase of all new items that you requested as well as giving us carte blanche to do whatever necessary to make your stay more pleasurable.
Penny did get her boss to phone you. I am Penny’s boss and I spoke to you on no less than four occasions. Perhaps you were referring to the owner; however as managers of his properties he leaves these matters to us.
We are in the business of Happy Holidays and will always bend over backwards to accommodate our clients in any way we can. We have many, many repeat clients at Cabin 16 who absolutely love what it has to offer and we are sorry that it did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews