We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ar'deco Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ar'deco Guesthouse
Ranked #79 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed 5 nights in Nov 2013 in the Empire room which was fantastic - spacious, roomy, a huge bed and wonderful views. The Location was fantatsic on the road into Knysna, overlooking the Lagoon. The Breakfast each day was fantastic in a wonderful glass walled room. Everything was immaculate and fresh with an eye for detail. Zelna was especially helpful and made us feel very welcome and at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our Lincoln room was perfect,spacious,clean and a beautiful view of the lagoon and garden route.
Suggestions from the reception regarding places to visit around knysna was helpful.breakfast was Devine

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Conscious D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our 2 nights at Ar'deCo was excellent. It was what was needed before and after running the Knysna Marathon. The hospitality was 5 star,the accommodation very good and the best of the lot was the breakfast.
I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone without any hesitation.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definately be back

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Ar'deCo is nicely situated on the edge of town very close to the water. It has a funky interior. Our room was comfortable although I wasn't at all keen on having the shower in the bedroom and a toilet that was only semi-private. The staff were pleasant and the breakfast was good. My guess is that this place would be great in the summer with it's outdoor barbecue area and sun lounges facing the water front. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethH584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed in Ardeco for two days, the lady who booked us in was very friendly and helpfull the room was good with all we need just VERY small. I was shocked the next morning tho get to the breakfast room, and it was full...... only anwer we got is 'well just wait for a table to come clear" this is unexeptable, most of the breakfast buffet was finished by then and if you asked the staff for something the were rude and unpleasant, this should not be happening at a 4 star guest house.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secunda, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We were looking for something other than you normal b&b and found this amazing place unexpectedly in Knysna. The staff were very friendly and our room was beautiful! We wanted to stay another day due to all of the activities in Knysna but unfortunately there wasn't space. We moved one night to another guest house and came back to Ardeco the evening after that again. All in all an AWESOME b&b! Thanks to the people who made our stay super awesome!

Room Tip: The empire room has an amazing view of the Knysna area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gido_koegelenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Salt River lodge
Salt River lodge
#52 of 102 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenfire Knysna Lodge
Greenfire Knysna Lodge
#39 of 102 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
2.5 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lagoon lodge
Lagoon lodge
#48 of 129 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Mulligan
Villa Mulligan
#47 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Overmeer Guest House
Overmeer Guest House
#27 of 129 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ar'deco Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ar'deco Guesthouse

Property: Ar'deco Guesthouse
Address: 149 Old Cape Road | entrance at Beauchamp Guest House next door, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardeco Guest house is situated alongside the Knysna Estuary. The Guest House has an established clientele and the property is visible from the N2 which is an excellent location for walk in guests. This quaint Guesthouse offers its visitors the friendly atmosphere and breath-taking views associated with the Knysna area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ar'deco Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing