We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Knysna”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knysna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fiddler's Green B&B
Ranked #96 of 130 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at Fiddlers Green B&B for two nights towards the end of January. We had not booked any accommodation and found it by driving up and away from the main road. We were attracted to it as it was situated in a quiet part of Knysna but within walking distance of restaurants. On arrival, Johan and Wim were so friendly, offering us coffee (it was mid morning) and making us feel so welcome. We had no particular plans and Johan very enthusiastically provided information on the options available for our day and a half stay in Knysna relevant to the kind of things we like doing on holiday. Our room was spacious and bright and we had our own private access, with the outer door leading to our own private sitting area. The bed was large and very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided in our room, and there was a safe in the room too. The bathroom was lovely, and, like the room, was modern and very clean. Our breakfasts were substantial and Johan cooked my boiled egg each day to perfection! It was very peaceful at night and, whilst we didn't have time to use it, the swimming pool looked very inviting. They were genuinely interested in ensuring that we had both a comfortable stay in their home and an enjoyable experience in Knysna. Nothing was too much trouble. Their restaurant recommendations were excellent. It was a real pleasure to stay with Johan and Wim and we considered ourselves fortunate to have found their B&B amongst all the others in Knysna. Johan even had recommendations for B&Bs in places we were going to visit later in our holiday and we stayed in one near Addo which was every bit as good as he had said, having stayed there
himself. We would recommend Fiddlers Green without reservation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newbury_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

Was a last minute booking in knysna and and what a pleasure it was. Arrived early but that was no problem allowed to drop off our bags and with some advice from Wim away we went on a look about.
B&B in walking distace to every thing in Knysna and Johan and Wim will help with any restaurant booking's you will need.Left fiddlers green feeeling like a old friend off the family not just some where i slept for the night

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whoels76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Our service at Fiddler's green was excellent, Johan and Wim are very warm and caring hosts. Our room was spacious and had a beautiful en suite.They have a swimming pool to the side of the house and a wonderful open garden.

Their location is central in Knysa, so you can walk to the main road, or you can also ride your bike around aswell.
Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are airy and spacious, with one room leading onto an outside wooden deck. Lovely for after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrudiG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Johan and Wim made us feel very welcome in their home. They are very friendly and helped us get a reservation at one of the best restaurants in Knysna "The Olive Tree" right after we arrived. The rooms were clean and recently remodeled. The beds were very comfortable and the neighborhood is nice and quiet for a good night sleep. It was nice to wake up and enjoy a breakfast on their patio overlooking the beautiful garden. We really enjoyed our stay at Fiddler's Green.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaya64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara58188589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavinaMedemblik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
869 reviews
17 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
167 reviews
5.2 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
12.7 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiddler's Green B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiddler's Green B&B

Address: 10 Circular Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiddler’s Green is a small and cosy guesthouse situated in Knysna (pronounced Nice na) in the Western Cape. The house is located less than 2 km away from the town’s centre. In the large garden with many mature trees, you will find a lovely pool. Most of the rooms at Fiddler’s Green B&B have a terrace and offer panoramic views. Two of the three units have a seating area with a flat-screen satellite TV and a small refrigerator. All of them have private entrances. Guests can enjoy the free breakfast served every day at the B&B. For lunch and dinner, restaurants and cafes are less than 1 km away. The Knysna River is just 500 metres away, and the beaches of the Indian Ocean are less than half an hour by car. The Knysna Heads are a 15-minute drive away. Port Elisabeth is 260 km. The Garden Route in South Africa is a popular tourist destination. It’s famous for its beautiful scenery, beautiful beaches and numerous outdoor activities. Knysna is a picturesque old town with many excellent restaurants and shops. The climate is pleasant throughout the year, the average summer temperature being between 28 °C – 30 °C. In winter it’s about 18 °C during the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing