We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Knysna Must-do!”
Review of Tapas and Oysters

Tapas and Oysters
Ranked #18 of 161 Restaurants in Knysna
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Sushi, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A fun, vibey tapas restaurant situated on Thesen Island at the waters edge. Live music, sushi, global tapas and friendly service. A place not to be missed...
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Knysna Must-do!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Well situated and vibey spot! Good tapas, quick and delicious sushi and great mojitos! Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TZVistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    251
    120
    42
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Service”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great food and we were helped by awesome staff that got us in on a busy and cold night allowing us to listen to the excellent band,will certainly always go back for more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lamb101101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riebeek-West, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“VERY disappointing”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our table had been reserved (ie, we were not a walk-in) and, with only one other table in the non-smoking part of the restaurant, our reserved table was between the entrance (it’s winter & cold) & the door leading to the smoking section. This latter door was left open 3 times (cold draft & smoke) before we requested to move to another table.
We chose a selection of tapas:
Pint of prawns (R48): 12 prawns which we shared & enjoyed.
Artichoke hearts marinated in olive oil, garlic and lemon juice (R30): also tasty, but we should have saved our bread (which we guzzled while waiting for the food) to accompany this.
Spicy chorizo sausage served with sweet caramelized onions (R38): too much onion (and too sweet) for the amount of chorizo, which spoiled the dish for us
6 coastal oysters grilled in garlic butter and blue cheese (R58): Looking at the menu (online), I see that there are also
‘Snails, with a garlic butter and Roquefort cheese, grilled to perfection’ and I’m wondering if we were not given this by mistake, but charged for the oysters. No way did we receive 6 oysters. They were tough & chewy; were served in a snail dish, swimming (floating) in garlic butter with the cheese ‘sauce’ in the centre of the dish. They were also tiny (about 1 cm x 1 cm), so we assumed that the oyster(s) had been cut into bits. By this stage (this dish arrived last) we were too irritated to request the menu to check what we should have got (ie, SIX oysters vs - what we thought - one oyster cut into 6), that we paid and left.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPWfmPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bad service, bad food”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Skip it.

Do NOT under any circumstance, order the seafood bisque.

Everything we ate was crap, service was crap.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen48043275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenvale, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The staff are friendly and the service is good but the food is really lousy. During the Oyster Festival last year it was one of our favorite restaurants. We returned in September with high expectations but the standard of food had gone down a lot. We thought we'd give it another try this holiday but were bitterly disappointed- I don't know what's happened but it definitely isn't worth going to. All our dishes were horrible and we were served a rotten oyster which the manager tried to give us some technical explanation that it wasn't bad- it just had some funny smell, but we didn't take his word- you know a rotten oyster when you put it in your mouth!
Such a pity that a once pleasant restaurant has gone down so much.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcelle09_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tapas and Oysters also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Tapas and Oysters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing