We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Construction of this 2-storey inn is largely made of wood. It looks every bit like a forest lodge on the outside but you will be pleasantly surprised with the luxurious fittings on the inside. Rooms were spacious, modern and clean, with comfortable bedding and large flat screen TV.

A sumptious continental breakfast spread is available every morning. If you prefer hot breakfast, it will be prepared to order. Delicious!

If you are driving, which we did, private parking is available in a safe compound beside the inn.

Location is perfect - short stroll to the waterfront where you will find plenty of shops selling souvenirs and trinkets as well as restaurants.

The Log Inn and beautiful seaside town of Knysna is the perfect place for a stopover and a good base to explore the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaLiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed at this Hotel and found it very nice. As the name says Log Inn the construction is made largely of wood and alothough it says "INN" but is a 4 star category. The design is very typicale of a Jungle Lodge. The staff are very friendly and everyone understands English. Rooms are on the Level 1 & 2. There are no elevators which is obvious but if you wish you can ask the concierge and they can get your luggage up by a special lift only for Luggage. The rooms are pretty large and spacious with large beds, sofa bed. Knysna is a small place and this hotel is right in the centre of the main street and a short 5 mins walk which leads to the waterfront if you wish to enjoy a cruise on the bay or just spend some time looking araound in the shops or dining. In all it is a wonderful place and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Fourth hotel on our Travelsphere tour.

Superb room with all mod comms. Very good breakfast and helpful friendly staff.

Easy walk to both town and pretty waterfront area . Plenty of shops and restaurants close by.
The chinese and pub opposite served nice very good value food.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank extravelmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Warm reception,excellent rooms with a street side view.The hotel is close by the ocean side where it takes only about 15 minutes to go whale and seal watching as well as boat cruises.....Good base to see the whole of the east coast of South Africa....as a family we were very comfortable and the morning breakfast is extravagant....
if you have been to many 5 star hotels, beach side resorts, boutique hotels........then this is the one to really experience something different very rare decor and style.... old world charm taking you back in time with modern facilities...............we were happy to be there.specially because we got to the Congo caves and Outsbourn Leopards and ostrich farms close by....

right opposite the front balcony is this great chinese resturant.....shopping ...I was happy witht he fishing shop closeby where we picked up lots of tackles and warm fishing gears too.... your South African trip can not be complete without the Knysna trip...so opt for Log Inn.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms facing the front street-- good view---
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsieGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Fantastic, Great Stay. Best hotel in the Garden Route
Friendly staff and spacious rooms

Room Tip: All of them are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacoSmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I was part of a group of friends that stayed here. We walked to the waterfront to have dinner which was very convenient - perhaps 10 minutes away! This is a beautiful wooden structure and the rooms are spacious and equipped with everything you'd need. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The choice at breakfast was huge and enjoyed this very much. We'll be back!

Room Tip: I had a room away from the street which might be the reason I heard no noise at night at all?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hippogrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The location is great @ the Log inn - so close to the Knysna Waterfront .Great restaurants in the area .Staff is friendly and very helpful. The breakfast and the buffet was great and very appetising . Safe parking .I wil strongly recommend this to people on a business trip, as well as on holiday .The conference centre is equipped with all the modern technology you can think of . Rooms are spacicous and comfortable . Peter, the owner ,is very much involved in his business and proud of his stunning product.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeZeekoeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
869 reviews
2.8 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#21 of 30 in Knysna
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#25 of 30 in Knysna
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Log-Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Log-Inn Hotel

Address: 16 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Knysna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#16 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £70 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Log-Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Log-Inn is the Southern hemisphere's largest Timberlog hotel. This unique 57 room hotel is ideally situated to enjoy all the central tourist attractions that Knysna has to offer. All rooms are air-conditioned and fitted with modern, but tasteful appointments. Recreational facilities include all season swimming pool,jacuzzi and sauna. Town and Knysna waterfront are a mere 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We have memberships at Simola Golf Course, which allows our guests access to this breathtaking course at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Knysna Log-Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Log Hotel Knysna
Knysna Log Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing