We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights and had a great stay. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were spacious with large beds.
The breakfast was good as well, with hot items made to order, but made quick and tasteful.
We enjoyed our stay in the hotel and will certainly come back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeromevanhelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    134
    45
    9
    1
See reviews for
75
126
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel. Unlike some fancier places we have stayed at on this trip, the heating/cooling is working!! They helped us avoid a mistake in choice of whaling trip and booked our other tours. The breakfast is adequate and bountiful. There are cookies in each room. It is an easy walk to the Quays for dinner and there is a lovely restaurant righr across the street. We were very happy here.

Room Tip: Might prefer to be on the side away from the main road. There was a motorcoach warming up one morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed two nights in this nice and cozy hotel...the location is excellent as it is a 5 min walk to the waterfront and tothe knysna main road...there is huge supermarket just across the road..quite safe area as well...we walked back late night and dint seem to be any issue... Very courteous reception and staff...the breakfast was nice...there was a big Indian group staying in the hotel and they attempted to make a couple of Indian items for the breakfast....which is a nice gesture but it was a disaster..all Indians including us were advising the others not to touch it :-)
Would definitely reccommend this hotel...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushsalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Visited this hotel with a very large group and had a very enjoyable stay, The rooms are excellent - very clean and quite spacious. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. We had to leave very early one morning and asked if they would mind putting on a simple breakfast for us and they respnded by putting on the full works a good hour ahead of schedule. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and all appeared freshly cooked. The bar area was very pleasant and even though the service was a little slow we felt very well looked after. I have vsited Knysna a couple of times before but the first time I have stayed here - would definitely go back and would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThemaceSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my night at the Log Inn. The staff was welcoming and helpful when we arrived. The hotel is appealingly decorated with old railroad equipment, and in other ways resembles an American Western ski lodge – though it may be the most luxurious of that type I’ve ever stayed in. The rooms are large and comfortable, with excellent bathrooms. I was delighted to find not only a sauna, but a pool and whirlpool out back, all of which were clean and pleasant. The morning buffet offers a wide and tasty selection suitable for any appetite.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I have been coming to the Log-Inn for nearly a decade, 6 or 7 times a year. with groups of 30-40 people. I'm a guide and tour manager. To whom else can one phone round noon and have guests who've just lost a dear parent, find a beautiful bouquet in their room, when they check in a few hours later? I've lost count of the number of appointments with dentists, doctors, physios and special encounters like sharks or elephants that the Log-Inn has organized for members of our groups.
What I like about the Log-Inn breakfasts are the adaptations to the guests. In addition to all the yummy yoghurts, fresh and canned fruit, cereals, toast, etc. if people from another culture (e.g. India or China) are staying at the hotel, special dishes are added to the buffet. If the group is at leisure, one can order freshly made eggs done any which way, plus sausages, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, etc. If the group has to get somewhere fast, then large chafing dishes offer scrambled eggs (from the taste I think the eggs are free range or organic) and all the other trimmings.
The rooms were redecorated a couple of years ago and since then guests have regularly come to me with compliments about them. And the large entrance hall where the reception is, is so impressive, with it's stained glass woodcutter windows, yellowwood features, attractive paintings, and fresh bowls of proteas.
The Log-Inn is central - 2 minutes to Main Street, 3 or 4 to the Waterfront Quays. Laundries, internet cafés, even a health food store close by. No wonder my groups love their stay in Knysna.

Room Tip: All the rooms have free wi-fi. 101-110 plus 121-130 have large balconies, while the other rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

Arrived here for a night in April. The room itself was ok and nicely furnished but bathroom pretty awful - felt much like an old people's home with a musty brown old fashioned bathroom suite which felt very 1970's.

What really let it down for us though were the evening staff. The lady who checked us in was by no means rude but just thoroughly bored and disinterested. The porter who was asked by reception to help with our bags seemed to linger for a tip and, having not got one, scowled at us every time we walked past him forr the rest of the evening... Not a pleasant atmosphere.

The gentleman who replaced the female receptionist later on in the evening followed a similar pattern - throwing an adaptor we had requested across the reception desk and again being rude.

Shame, as the breakfast and waiting staff the next morning were very pleasant.

Unfortunately the atmosphere of the night before really coloured our experience - glad to be checking out the following day!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTJAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1959Peter, Guest Relations Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Very shocked by this report! My wife and I have run Knysna Log-Inn from the start in 1998. We have always prided ourselves on personal, friendly and professional service being given by all our staff, many of whom started here at the same time.

During this time the hotel has received a number of personal service accolades.
All those service comments that you experienced are totally unacceptable and need to be addressed.

Below your comments are other guests experiences that stayed recently, which is how we perceive our service should be. This report is only the 6th of 70 responses, that has been as unhappy as you. The majority of other guests have rated us either 4 or 5.

It is very important for us to follow up on your experience and would appreciate telling us the following:
1) What was the date that you stayed with us so we know who was on duty.
2) Did you discuss any of your experience with any of our managers?

My e.mail address is peter@log-inn.co.za if you are willing to help us.
We would also like to invite you back to us, unannounced, and with our compliments, to be able to experience " the real Knysna Log-Inn hospitality"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
6.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#14 of 30 in Knysna
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Log-Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Log-Inn Hotel

Property: Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Address: 16 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Knysna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#14 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Log-Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Log-Inn is the Southern hemisphere's largest Timberlog hotel. This unique 57 room hotel is ideally situated to enjoy all the central tourist attractions that Knysna has to offer. All rooms are air-conditioned and fitted with modern, but tasteful appointments. Recreational facilities include all season swimming pool,jacuzzi and sauna. Town and Knysna waterfront are a mere 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We have memberships at Simola Golf Course, which allows our guests access to this breathtaking course at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Knysna Log-Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Log Hotel Knysna
Knysna Log Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing