We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Log-Inn Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Great hotel and very friendly staff. As soon as we arrived, we were greeted and given orange juice to drink. The log inn is made of yellow wood, an important tree of South Africa. The rooms were comfortable and had balconies. The breakfast was good. The hotel is located very close to the water and it is an easy walk. My friend went to take photos of the waterfront early in the morning and found the locals to be very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bug_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Hi Bug_doctor.... won't ask any further about the name. thank you so much for your great review. so nice of you to compliment the staff on their friendliness. most have worked here 10years +, so the smiles and greetings are genuine and not part of any corporate handbook. The Yellowwood interior is really special and extremely rare. at todays cost of the wood, we would never be able to use yellowwood as an option.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

Firstly may I say that whoever took the photographs of this hotel are worth every penny they cost as without a SatNav we would never have found it and if you have booked there having seen their advertising leaflets that can be found up and down the Garden Route, dont expect a restuarant. They only do breakfast and they were clearing up 45 minutes before the end of service. Having got that off my chest, the rooms are adequate. There is a car park at the rear of the property and it is an easy walk to the waterfront. It was an ideal stopping point in our journey and do take the time to take a boat trip whilst there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Phil
on a positive note, thank you for recognizing the cleanliness, ease of getting to great places and rooms.
PIease let us know where you got your information about us having a restaurant, as we discontinued a seasonally successful restaurant, in 2008, due to most guests wanting the 5 minute walk to the waterfront with the choice of 20+ restaurants. As far as we know, none of our brochures or websites mention a restaurant in the hotel.
With regards breakfast, we were in no way clearing breakfast before the time. During peak coach tourist time, we need to have breakfast available quickly "for the masses" from serving dishes. As soon as the buses depart, we clear, and prepare fresh, on order from the kitchen. We will make sure that this is communicated to private guests in future. i do apologize for creating this perception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Our stay at the Knysna Log-Inn was between 7 and 8 June 2012. Yes this review comes a good few months later, but the fact that we as a group who stayed there are still talking about it, made me want to share the experience with everyone else.

I bought a Groupon special for the Hotel, and was a bit wary that upon arrival we would be treated differently to the "normal" paying guests. But this was not the case at all. They treated us in the same manner as everyone else, and were completely hospitable.

The breakfast meals were excellent and the rooms were top-class.

Because of this, I will most certainly be going back for a visit in the not too distant future... Groupon or not, it is well worth the trip down the Garden Route for.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Thank you for such a nice review.
All guests that stay with us, regardless of what deal they came on, get treated equally well. We have no corporate handbook that dictates staff responses. Most of our staff are 10years + and treat the guests as they would if you were a guest in their home.
We look forward to making you feel most welcome the next time you visit our beautiful Garden Route.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights and had a great stay. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were spacious with large beds.
The breakfast was good as well, with hot items made to order, but made quick and tasteful.
We enjoyed our stay in the hotel and will certainly come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeromevanhelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel. Unlike some fancier places we have stayed at on this trip, the heating/cooling is working!! They helped us avoid a mistake in choice of whaling trip and booked our other tours. The breakfast is adequate and bountiful. There are cookies in each room. It is an easy walk to the Quays for dinner and there is a lovely restaurant righr across the street. We were very happy here.

Room Tip: Might prefer to be on the side away from the main road. There was a motorcoach warming up one morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed two nights in this nice and cozy hotel...the location is excellent as it is a 5 min walk to the waterfront and tothe knysna main road...there is huge supermarket just across the road..quite safe area as well...we walked back late night and dint seem to be any issue... Very courteous reception and staff...the breakfast was nice...there was a big Indian group staying in the hotel and they attempted to make a couple of Indian items for the breakfast....which is a nice gesture but it was a disaster..all Indians including us were advising the others not to touch it :-)
Would definitely reccommend this hotel...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sushsalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Visited this hotel with a very large group and had a very enjoyable stay, The rooms are excellent - very clean and quite spacious. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. We had to leave very early one morning and asked if they would mind putting on a simple breakfast for us and they respnded by putting on the full works a good hour ahead of schedule. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and all appeared freshly cooked. The bar area was very pleasant and even though the service was a little slow we felt very well looked after. I have vsited Knysna a couple of times before but the first time I have stayed here - would definitely go back and would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThemaceSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.6 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#16 of 30 in Knysna
247 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Log-Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Log-Inn Hotel

Address: 16 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Knysna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#15 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £78 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Log-Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Log-Inn is the Southern hemisphere's largest Timberlog hotel. This unique 57 room hotel is ideally situated to enjoy all the central tourist attractions that Knysna has to offer. All rooms are air-conditioned and fitted with modern, but tasteful appointments. Recreational facilities include all season swimming pool,jacuzzi and sauna. Town and Knysna waterfront are a mere 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We have memberships at Simola Golf Course, which allows our guests access to this breathtaking course at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Knysna Log-Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Log Hotel Knysna
Knysna Log Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing