We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

The hotel is built using wood logs. Very nice concept. Located in the central place, and closer to many restaurants, waterfront & shops. We were offered spacious room facing the pool. Free Wi-Fi is available in the room.

Room Tip: Walk down to the waterfront for shopping & many choices for food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Jayant M.
thank you for your kind comments. we love the concept of our hotel as well. it fits in so well to the area which has a deep history in the timber industry. coupled with that we have a passionate staff who really enjoy seeing the smiles on satisfied guests faces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    128
    42
    8
    1
See reviews for
71
120
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Booked for a group of 10 people. I will just share some experiences:
* We were charged for asking the room service for plates
* We asked for towels after using the pool , the staff after committing to get it, didnt turn up for 20 minutes, we had to ourselves get the towels from our rooms
* We asked the temperature of the 'heated jacuzzi ' to be contolled, the staff concerned made a face , turned it off , got a pipe and put it into the jacuzzi saying thats all he could do
* The front office staff doesnt speak english, doesnt help you with any directions or any assistance in moving around the town

I would strongly advice you to book elsewhere if your travel agent has booked you in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhinav_Sarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Abhinav Sarin. Oh Dear! Your review has got us all scratching our heads! All the things we pride ourselves on at Knysna Log-Inn, you have slated.
Did you ever speak to a manager when you had any of these problems. The Jacuzzi is set at 40 C deg. If you wanted it cooler, the only way to do this "instantly" is to add cold water, which was done.
In any hotel room service charges are standard. a staff member has to prepare your request, deliver it to your room, take it back after you have finished, and clean the crockery and utensils used. All our staff speak at least two languages with English being standard. Maybe, there was a misunderstanding with accents, which can be confusing.
Please take time to read the 10 comments below your review. Not one has had the same problems, in fact they praise most aspects you found fault with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

staff at the breakfast and the quality of the food at the breakfast was the highlight or our pleasant experience in this hotel. we relished the ambience of the rooms and the outside pation seating of the breakfast. the hotel had a location and was at a very convenient location

Room Tip: good property well suited for couples , clean and excellent staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jokamaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Wonderful hotel located very close to the waterfront. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and laid out nicely. We were able to book through the information center in town on the main street. Would go back anytime!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Jim G
thank you so much for your kind words. Your praises for our staff and service levels is such a good motivator to always try and exceed the high standards that management sets.
we look forward to welcoming you, your family, or your friends back to Knysna Log-Inn any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I had a group of 20 travelers from Israel stay in this beutiful hotel for 2 nights during March 2013. From the moment we arrived, when the rooms were ready for us till the minute we left - the whole group could not stop praising the hotel. Peter and the hotel personnel were very helpful with any question that came up. Breakfast was ready on time and was more then enough for everybody. We needed a conference room, and it was prepared for us in no time.
I look forward to our next trip to South Africa and staying in the Knysna log-inn hotel.
Avi Feldman
Jerusalem, Israel

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AviFeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you Avi. it was a pleasure having you and your group in the hotel. we all realise that from time to time we have special needs travellers like your group. it makes work fun when we can exceed expectation and make people feel relaxed and at home.
We look forward to your next group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

Log-inn is in a fantastic location in knysna and you can pretty much walk anywhere! It definitely has character. The staff are friendly, helpful and can't do enough for you. The breakfast was great especially the pancakes yum yum! I would recommend a room which faces the pool of parking lot, cause the road side was noisy.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Hi Lynda. So happy that you enjoyed our hotel. although due to our location we are extremely popular with group travelers, we still try to have the personal touches as well as genuine staff friendliness.
Glad you enjoyed the breakfast....especially the pancakes. My favourite too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

This building is a little weird - all wood and quite massive. The layout inside is also a little on the strange side - the passages to the rooms are not for the slighty tipsy... We liked the public spaces, but found the rooms a little bland. I think we may try something somewhat more personal next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Hi Frank. Thank you so much for the positive feedback. the building is rather unique for Southe Africa. especially with all the Yellowwood in the foyer. very indigenous to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
6.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#14 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Log-Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Log-Inn Hotel

Property: Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Address: 16 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Knysna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#14 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Log-Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Log-Inn is the Southern hemisphere's largest Timberlog hotel. This unique 57 room hotel is ideally situated to enjoy all the central tourist attractions that Knysna has to offer. All rooms are air-conditioned and fitted with modern, but tasteful appointments. Recreational facilities include all season swimming pool,jacuzzi and sauna. Town and Knysna waterfront are a mere 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We have memberships at Simola Golf Course, which allows our guests access to this breathtaking course at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knysna Log-Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Log Hotel Knysna
Knysna Log Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing