We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why stay here?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Why stay here?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

So why stay here?
Not for the views, the front is on the street and the back is on the carpark. Not for the rooms which are good sized, well equipped but a little tired.
First reason is the location, halfway between the main street for the shops, banks etc. and the waterfront for its array of restaurants. Also the Brinton on Sea 7km beach is only 15 mins drive away.
But the main reason is for the staff who are endlessly helpful and very, very nice people.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marti D, General Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Brian H

Thank you for your review of the Knysna Log-Inn. I have to agree that the Log-Inn is ideally situated for our guests to explore Knysna on foot! and it is still safe to walk around - one of the joys of living in "paradise" (read the Garden Route and specifically Knysna!!) Knysna is also the perfect place to use as a base to explore the rest of the Garden Route as it is quite central and allows you to do daily trips to various activities and places and to return "home" without the hassle of moving on to yet another town and hotel

We do have great staff working at the Knysna Log-Inn. Our aim at the Knysna Log-Inn is to be warmly professional and to make the guests feel right at home while they are on holiday.

We hope to see you and all your friends and family back at the Knysna Log-Inn in the not so distant future.

Have a great day
Kind Regards
Marti Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    128
    42
    8
    1
See reviews for
71
120
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

The staff in this hotel go over and above the call of duty to ensure that their clients are happy. Marti is the most amazing manager- the bosses are lucky to have an angel like her. All the staff were amazing - the breakfast team knew exactly how I liked my eggs and always asked how I was. They put on a very special spread. I stayed longer than intended and was treated almost as part of the log- inn family! My every need was attended too - I even went out on special trips with members of staff ( thanks again). A truly special hotel and staff. I had an amazing time at the Log inn and I know you all too!!! Thanks again!!! 100/100!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alybuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marti D, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Alybuk
Thanks for your very kind and very excellent review. We at the Knysna Log-Inn enjoyed having you around although the circumstances were not so pleasant for you. I do hope you will be able to visit South African and specifically Knysna and the Log-Inn in the not so distant future and that you will then be able to have a holiday as you intended. Keep in touch...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Very good value for money... I booked a family room and a single room, but to my surprise I received two family rooms for no extra charge. I guess it was to keep all of us together and maybe they were not busy. Well either way it was a bargain and I appreciated their customer focus. It was a clean and neat venue with a generous buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riaan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marti D, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Riaan S.
Thank you for your kind response on Tripadvisor. Where we can, we will always keep families and parties together. We pride ourselves in putting on a breakfast spread that is generous and also a little different to what you commonly find in hotels.
We look forward to welcoming you, your family and/or friends back soon at Knysna Log-Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was a lovely place to stay, the service was excellent in walking distance to everything, restaurants very close breakfast was great, you will enjoy this. it has the cabin look with really unusual hall ways you will see what I mean

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marti D, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Chrismuz
Thanks for reviewing Knysna Log-Inn so favourably on tripadvisor. Being within two blocks of the Knysna waterfront which is the centre of all tourist activities in our little town is a real bonus. Knysna Log-Inn does have a unique feel to it and was built purposely to fit in with Knysna's history of being a Timber industry town last century.
We are happy that you enjoyed the standard of service that that you received.
Hope to see you or your friends visiting Knysna and the Log-Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel and the welcome was superb. The moment we arrived the hotel we were met with a cold drink. The rooms and facilities were all clean and well maintained. Free wifi and computer use which was a real bonus. Bathroom and bedroom spacious and modern.
Had a lovely breakfast with a vast array of food. It was very busy in the restaurant but never once did we need to ask for the trays to be topped up or tea etc as the staff were on the ball.
Bar is a good place to relax or have a drink before walking to the waterfront which is a stone's throw away.
Always felt safe and secure.
Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear CB1315
Thank you for your very positive review of Knysna Log-Inn. the manner in which you were received has become one of the staffs really strong points. We often hear that the genuine way in which all staff interacts with guests makes all the difference.
Our breakfasts are also a highlight and we pride ourselves in offering quality, quantity and a few decadent surprises that other hotels do not offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Very good hotel to stay, has jungle lodge experience and yet has all the modern facilities,located just in the centre of town and at walkable distance from lagoon, good and elaborate continental break fast, friendly staff.on the whole a very decent place to stay

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachotappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Raccotappa. Thank you so much for reviewing Knysna Log-Inn. The hotel is unique and we are very proud of our Timberlog roots and heritage. Our biggest asset is our distance from Knysna Waterfront, with all its attractions, restaurants and shops. we hope to welcome you, your family or friends back at Knysna Log-Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a great visit to this hotel. Very nice rooms, good service, excellent breakfast. Best part was the Anchorage Restaurant right near by, and a place to do laundry that will deliver back to the hotel free of charge. Great place for a family to make a stop over during a trip of the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1959Peter, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so much for this review. Our position as well as the unique features of a timberlog hotel do make us the ideal place to stay. i am so glad you enjoyed Anchorage restaurant. it is often overlooked for the glitzy waterfront restaurants. they serve really good food at a reasonable price.
thank you as well for the kind words about our freindly staff and great breakfasts. we do work hard at the little things that are often overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
6.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#14 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Log-Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Log-Inn Hotel

Property: Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Address: 16 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Knysna
#14 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Log-Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Log-Inn is the Southern hemisphere's largest Timberlog hotel. This unique 57 room hotel is ideally situated to enjoy all the central tourist attractions that Knysna has to offer. All rooms are air-conditioned and fitted with modern, but tasteful appointments. Recreational facilities include all season swimming pool,jacuzzi and sauna. Town and Knysna waterfront are a mere 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We have memberships at Simola Golf Course, which allows our guests access to this breathtaking course at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knysna Log-Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Log Hotel Knysna
Knysna Log Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing