We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knysna Log-Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Spent two nights at this lovely hotel in Knysna. Possibly one of the best which has the advantage of being equidistant between the shopping area and the waterfront. Rooms are spacious with a very woody feel - in fact the whole hotel has got a very woody feeling and catches the eye. Air conditioning in the rooms is an issue as I guess the AC's came as an afterthought, however the ceiling fans make up for it. Lovely breakfast in the morning. Don't miss to have their muffins - they are out of the world and just melt in the mouth. The hotel does not serve lunch or dinner but has two good restaurants bang opposite the hotel. One is the Anchorage which serves sea food (vegetarians also have a choice of three dishes - pretty good) and the Oldes which is an English kind of joint. There are numerous options on the waterfront also for dining and we tried the Wu's Kitchen for Chinese food and it was quite good. Would definitely recommend the hotel. Stayed here in April 2014.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJPINGLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marti D, Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear DJ Pingle

Thank you for your kind review of the Knysna Log-Inn hotel.

I have to agree with you that all this wood gives the hotel a very unusual and wonderful feeling.

Where the hotel is situated - equidistant between the main road and the waterfront, makes it ideal for guests to park their car and explore Knysna on foot.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the muffins....... for out guests' health we remove all fat and sugar!! (only joking)

Knysna is blessed to have many good restaurants where people can enjoy a great meal paired with excellent SA wine.

Hopefully you will be able to visit us again from faraway India - with all your friends and family.

Kind regards
MARTI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    124
    40
    8
    1
See reviews for
69
117
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
186 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during our tour of the garden route. It is in a great location - walkable to the pier and all its restaurants and shops. The hotel reception staff were very welcoming - offering juice at our arrival. Very friendly The hotel is beautiful - great big picture windows, marvelous carvings in wood. One of the staff members took me around to make sure that I didn't miss any of the great carvings. Breakfast was varied and good. Didn't get a chance to use the pool but it did look inviting.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kardex2dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marti D, General Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Kardex2dog

Thank you for your very kind review of the Knysna Log-Inn hotel.

We are very proud of the hotel and show it to our guests - and to people just walking by and wanting to have a look!! The hotel with all the wood and the giant stained glass windows really is something special - as you mention.

We do have excellent staff working here and without them I will be totally lost.

I hope you would be able to visit us again in the not so distant future - while the dollar favours you...

Kind regards
MARTI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here beginning of March whilst touring around SA/Garden Route and were very pleased we had booked this hotel for one night. We had a lovely room, nice size with plenty of facilities required, fab air conditioning which was required as the weather was so warm, Tea and Coffee making facilities, TV, WIFI etc.
Our room was overlooking the large secure car park which was helpful to use for free for our stay. Nice and quiet, sat on the balcony before going out for dinner and watched the sun go down, balconies are not large but fine for two with some seats and table.
This hotel has a great location only minutes away from shops and restaurants,we walked down to the waterfront/harbour and had a lovely dinner, nice atmosphere down there.
Rooms were clean very comfortable and we slept well.
Breakfast was great, plenty of choices of all styles of food, hot and cold and nice juices on offer. The breakfast staff were friendly and helpful and it was a relaxing affair, large breakfast room and we sat by the open doors with a view of the street.
Lovely lady checked us out, there was some initial confusion over a phone bill I had to pay but advised did not use the phone and when we looked quickly at the call record it was made by our room but months prior so somehow attached itself to our bill, quickly rectified and we were bid farewell and promised we would definitely return if ever back in the area.
The decor is beautiful with the wood structures/walls/roof, stained glass windows and the large wooden staircases, lovely and unique.
Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 420holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marti D, General Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear 420Holiday

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to do a review of the Knysna Log-Inn hotel.

I am quite flattered that you gave us a 5star rating as I see you are very well travelled and have been all over the world!!

Sitting on the balcony, sipping a tall, cool drink and watching the sun set is what a holiday is all about - in my mind...

We do have great staff and they are a great assett. Without them it would be impossible to run the hotel. But then again, it is easy to be friendly to wonderfull guests.

As you have been to many other places in the world and not so much to South Africa - I look forward to welcoming you back to Knysna and the Knysna Log-Inn in the not so distant future.

Hopefully this time you would be able to stay for more than just 1 day.

Kind regards
MARTI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgetown
Level Contributor
915 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here two nights on our tour of South Africa. The log walls and stained-glass windows give the place a lot of charm. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. We were on the top floor, so got a bit of exercise going up and down - not a problem for us but you should request a lower floor if you have problems with stairs. The staff was friendly and helpful. Six of us decided to play cards outside (just out the door at the back) and everything we needed was there in a flash.
Breakfast was great and we were able to make good use of the pool, sauna and Jacuzzi. We ate supper at the restaurant across the road (Olde's Pub & Grill) and had a fantastic meal at a great price.
The location is great. It is a short walk from the waterfront shops and restaurants in one direction and a modern mall in the other. Hint: On our 29-day trip of South Africa, Zimbabwe (Victoria Falls) and Kenya, Knysna had the best shopping - great selection with lower prices than Sandton or Cape Town (the 2 other places we had time to shop).

Room Tip: Pool side is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marti D, General Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear RandyRoss

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to do a review of the Knysna Log-Inn hotel.

I have to agree with you regarding the foyer with the yellowwood and the stained glass windows - awesome!! - still after all the many years I have been here.

I do have great staff and they look after the guests very well - they are the biggest asset that a person could ask for.

Also great to hear the shopping in Knysna is fantastic - I always thought it was just me who did not like shopping in big cities.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your meal at Olde's - we send many guests there as we know they will be well looked after.

As for the card game - who actually won the strip poker - I did not see anybody prancing around in the nude..?

Do visit us soon again - remember, we are only a flight away - and a little bit of travelling by car..


Kind regards
MARTI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were welcomed with juice and snacks! A very warm welcome after a 3 hour trip (doing the garden route). People were nice and the rooms are comfortable and clean. It's close to the city center and they have an amazing breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanSalej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marti D, General Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Stefan Salej

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to do a review on the Knysna Log-Inn hotel. All our guests are extremely important to us and it is wonderfull to hear (or rather read) that your guests enjoyed staying with us. I do have excellent staff and without them, I will be lost. And you saw the result of their dedication in the clean and comfy rooms and the great breakfast - all their doing!

Do visit us again soon with lots of friends and family.

Kind regards
MARTI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Lovely hotel in centre of town. Staff very friendly. Hotel situated very well for waterfront. Corridors seem a bit strange at first and expected the design to cause a lot of noise but we slept very well and heard nothing. Good breakfast offered .

Room Tip: Ask for pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McArthur3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marti D, General Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear McArthur3

Thank you for your reivew of the Knysna Log-Inn hotel.

Being in the centre of Knysna, within walking distance to everything that matters makes it ideal for our guests to explore Knysna on foot.

The staff better be friendly.. or else...! Only joking, they enjoy interacting with our guests and most of them have been working here for quite a while and know that being friendly to a guest just contributes to the guest's great experience of our hotel, Knysna and South Africa.

We have designed the corridors specifically so that guests can have a few bottles of great wine and blame it on the corridors - you will have to come back with friends and show them....

Kind regards
MARTI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a very good hotel located close to the Waterfront of Knysna and the main town centre. The staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms extremely well appointed and comfortable. The breakfast was vey good and the overall experience couldn't be faulted. The hotel doesn't provide an evening meal, but there is a very good restaurant close by and the Waterfront abounds with places to eat.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the pool side of the hotel as this is the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marti D, General Manager at Knysna Log-Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Geoff M

Thank you for your review of the Knysna Log-Inn Hotel. I do agree with you, the location of the hotel in the heart of Knysna really is a plus for our guests as it allows them to park the car and explore Knysna on foot - without worrying about parking.

Most of our staff have been here for longer than 8 years and without them I will be totally lost!! And you can see their dedication in the great breakfast that we serve and the clean and comfortable rooms - all their doing!

I hope you will be able to visit Knysna and Knysna Log-inn again soon and bring all your friends and family.

Kind regards
MARTI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
6.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#13 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Log-Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Log-Inn Hotel

Property: Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Address: 16 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Knysna
#13 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Log-Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Log-Inn is the Southern hemisphere's largest Timberlog hotel. This unique 57 room hotel is ideally situated to enjoy all the central tourist attractions that Knysna has to offer. All rooms are air-conditioned and fitted with modern, but tasteful appointments. Recreational facilities include all season swimming pool,jacuzzi and sauna. Town and Knysna waterfront are a mere 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We have memberships at Simola Golf Course, which allows our guests access to this breathtaking course at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Knysna Log-Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Log Hotel Knysna
Knysna Log Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing