We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2007

We really enjoyed Knysna. We spent 3 nights here and this was a perfect hotel (and one of the best on our stay in SA). Its a quaint wooden style hotel but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and the facilities (pool, jacuzzi, sauna) were all clean and of a reasonable size.

This hotel is just a safe 3-4 minute walk from the Waterfront where there are plenty of shops and restuarants. The Elephant Park is a must but try to get into small parties as you get a much better experience with these magnificent animals. The park is about a 20 minute drive away.

Plettenberg Bay was a bit disappointing but we were out of season for sharks & whales so probably didn't see its main attraction.

Generally pleased with this hotel and Knysna itself although 3 to 4 days is about right.

  • Liked — Style...very wooden
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Matesys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    135
    46
    9
    1
See reviews for
77
126
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2007

We stayed at the Knysna Log Inn for 4 nights in late March 2007. We had travelled from Cape Town (long drive of 6 hours) and weren't sure what to expect. It's actually quite a sizeable place with a very convenient location - 100 yards to the main street in town and about 200 yards down to the waterfront where there are a reasonable selection of shops and restaurants. It's an amazing structure built entirely out of wood, with a lovely feature of stained glass windows in the foyer. The downside is that with it's central location also comes a fair bit of traffic noise if your bedroom is at the front - so ask for a room at the back!

The breakfasts are very extensive for this type of hotel - we were very pleasantly surprised. Everything from fresh fruit to pancakes, scones, cold meats, and hot breakfasts - absolutely no problem. We also used the hotel restaurant on our first night after our long drive, and all the food was very good (there was 6 of us).

For food, I can also recommend:
Ile de Pain, a lovely bakery / cafe on Thesen Island - about a 15 minute walk away over the causeway bridge.
JJs, upstairs at the waterfront - food and wine excellent and "Mine Host", Justin, is very welcoming and quite a character! The "waitrons" all perform a couple of African songs during the evening! You also get to leave your mark in the place by decorating a used wine bottle which is then placed in a rack on the ceiling for all to see! Look for our Scottish saltire!
We also ate at the Anchorage, just down the road from the Log Inn, and Drydock, at the waterfront, both of which were fine too.

We did get the chance to lie by the pool at the Inn for a couple of hours, although our weather was a bit unsettled - it's fine if you just want to relax in the sun with a book - however, it's a bit on the small side - don't think you'll get a stretching swim!

We booked the ferry trip to the Featherbed Nature reserve when we arrived and I would definitely recommend it. The views from the Heads were lovely, and we enjoyed the walk back down.

One final word if you're a golfer - the 3 guys played 5 games of golf while we were in South Africa - their favourite was Semola at Knysna!

  • Liked — Rooms clean and comfortable, with some nice touches - rose on dresser, TV magazine etc.
  • Disliked — Noise from road in bedrooms at front of hotel, barman desperate to close up at 10.30pm!!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AvidHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2006

We stayed here 14/15 November 2006. No problems checking in or with the room. However, we did eventually, have three different telephones, before they provided one that worked!

The building is an odd yellow wooden construction and the corridors were very strange. The room was a standard style of hotel room with a small balcony that had a very high, solid balustrade. The pool was very small, but we never used it. Lobby was interesting, with stained glass windows.

Well located, and the area seemed safe. We walked round the town and to the quays quite happily. They washed our car on request. Breakfast was a large buffet selection, with ample choice.

This hotel is very popular with tour groups.

For most of the restaurants on the Quays, we would recommend booking as we had problems finding a table.

  • Liked — Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Book restaurants on the Quays early
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2006

I was recommended this hotel by a South African friend who was living in Knysna until recently. On my arrival, I wasn't sure what to think. It's quite a large hotel and is bang in the centre of town. The building is a very large yellow-coloured wood log cabin which is somewhat odd (some people love it) but impressive nonetheless, especially given the history of the forests around Knysna. Once you've got past this - here's why I loved it:
- It's easy to find, and parking is ample and safe.
- The breakfasts are amazing - really
- You can very easily walk down to the Knysna Quays for dinner (I never tried the hotel restaurant as there was such choice elsewhere).
- The service is top-notch, with genuinely very friendly staff.
The rooms are well-appointed, if a little bland - but overall this is a very good and practical choice. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you think you might be bothered by noise from the street (not that I was).

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Welshgirl321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
6.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
3.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#14 of 30 in Knysna
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Log-Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Log-Inn Hotel

Property: Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Address: 16 Gray Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Knysna
#14 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#14 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Log-Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Log-Inn is the Southern hemisphere's largest Timberlog hotel. This unique 57 room hotel is ideally situated to enjoy all the central tourist attractions that Knysna has to offer. All rooms are air-conditioned and fitted with modern, but tasteful appointments. Recreational facilities include all season swimming pool,jacuzzi and sauna. Town and Knysna waterfront are a mere 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We have memberships at Simola Golf Course, which allows our guests access to this breathtaking course at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Knysna Log-Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Log Hotel Knysna
Knysna Log Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing