We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 19 March 2011

We stayed in The Knysna Quays for 2nights. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a lagoon view room for free. It was quite a nice supprise.

The room had 2x double beds an was nice and spacious. The bathroom had a seperate bath & shower.

The Hotel is walking distance to all the shops & restaurants in the Waterfront.
The hotel only serves breakast, but at the Drydock Food Company you can have lunch & dinner & ProKard rates apply! It is a excellent restaurant with an awesome view.

The only negative thing was that the pool was not heated as advertised.

I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RizzieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    389
    133
    18
    18
See reviews for
191
385
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We only stayed one night here, but enjoyed the comfortable hotel and its environment.
The spacious room had a nice view over the bay. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was up to the standards of what can be expected.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chococat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

A good, clean well-situated hotel.
Breakfast (included) was excellent, and some very good restaurants within 200 metres.
Would recommend 34deg. and Drydock.
If I was in Knysana again would certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brewersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

After a rather disastrous experience at our previous hotel in Port Elizabeth we held our breath walking into the Protea Hotel. I had doubts about staying at a chain establishment but soon forgot about this once we walked into our room. Very spacious - 2 big queen size beds, airconditioning that worked so well it was like a freezer (welcomed by us at this stage), seating area, and a lovely view out the window of the Quays, water and mountains. It was truly a breath of fresh air. Great location - lovely restaurants nearby. Located right next to the shops that feature craft, souvenirs, clothes etc - all great quality, unique style shops. Entertainment around the quays - we had some musicians and singers whilst we were there. Choices of meals from grills to hot dog stall to upmarket restaurants. Also room service is available and great food. Staff were very friendly and helpful all the time. There is free internet service too. Pool is good and plenty of seats for people without all the hassles in most large resorts. The restaurant only serves the breakfast so you will need to go out, but everything is very close walk through the shopping arcade, which is really worth looking at anyway. Car park can be tricky depending on how full it is, you do have to pay but well worth it for security reasons. 'A lovely place Knysna and a very relaxing stress free hotel with staff who want to help you.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

This was our first stay at this hotel and we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and the food of a good standard. Breakfasts were varied buffet style and there was lots of choice.
There was free wifi which was great, although a rather odd voucher system in place which allowed you an hour at a time – however, some tickets only had 10 mins on them?! But I’m not complaining just forewarning you!
Parking was chargeable on a daily rate of which was R25 a day. The pool area was clean and well positioned and thankfully no children around so it was nice and peaceful (it’s a small (ish) area and wouldn’t have had such a peaceful ambiance if that had been the case!
It’s ideally situated for the Restaurants, literally outside of the pool gate cross the path and your at the first of many restaurants. Having said that, it wasn’t noisy. Our room offered great views over the Harbor and across to the Featherbed Nature Reserve (which is a must to visit!)
Our room was spacious, comfy bed and very clean and of good standard. Lovely location for touring the area, and we would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caz'n'kel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stayed in a lagoon facing room - well worth the extra cost as the views were excellent. Beds (2 doubles in each room) were comfortable, and wardrobe space adequate. Bathroom fine. Good air-con - but could hear movement in other rooms if air-con turned off at night (so we left ours on!)

Breakfasts were good, with a wide choice, although the staff struggled one day when the hotel was very full. There is no restaurant on-site, but you can charge your bill at about 6 closeby restaurants to your room. Free internet access available. Staff friendly and helpful.

Well located for town centre, waterfront and boat trips (we recommend the tuk-tuk tour from outside the front door). Secure parking at front was ZAR25 a day.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pwjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Stayed at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays for two nights in October 2010 in a lagoon facing room. Service was excellent at the hotel especially one particularly barman who entertained my three children with tricks. There is a heated pool and the restaurants are approximately 15 meters from the hotel. The hotel only serves breakfast which was not a problem as there are approximately 15 restaurants in walking distance. Only problem encountered was the colour of the water coming out of the taps which was brown and there was a sewage stench when we stayed there. Nice to wake up and watch the fisherman sorting their catch and oysters. Internet was free and parking was in a safe environment. Lots of tourists milling around and a good vibe. Definitely going back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene261202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
801 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
6.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing