We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 11 May 2011

i had a wonderful stay at the protea hotel knysna.

i did not book before hand and arrived without a booking. the receptionist on duty made sure i had a lovely room. they then assisted me with my luggage to my room.

breakfast was excellent and the service was wonderful.

i would definitely recommend the hotel to any person and will definitely return.

keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    392
    134
    19
    18
See reviews for
192
389
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

The breakfasts were a grand affair and the offerings were extremely tasty. The bar was conveniently located as well. The room overlooked the Quays with sailing boats moored alongside and the lagoon yonder.
Knysna being a small town, the hotel was very conveniently located along the waterfront with lots of cafes and good eateries to choose from. The Kingclip is an awesome dish.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil Hemming
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Fabulous is all that is needed to say with this hotel. The staff are so friendly and welcoming from the moment at check to the moment we left. They really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The rooms are nice, the harbour facing is a bonus so ask for one. We had a bottle of bubbly and chocolates in our room which was a nice touch. Breakfast was hot and self service buffet and so much to choose from catering for all tastes. Service here was also spot on. I really liked this hotel its a credit to the Protea Group. Maybe they could send the manager here to train the staff at the Protea Port Elizabeth where we stayed two days after this hotel. They are awful in comparison. Great location, easy walking to all attractions. Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

We stayed in The Knysna Quays for 2nights. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a lagoon view room for free. It was quite a nice supprise.

The room had 2x double beds an was nice and spacious. The bathroom had a seperate bath & shower.

The Hotel is walking distance to all the shops & restaurants in the Waterfront.
The hotel only serves breakast, but at the Drydock Food Company you can have lunch & dinner & ProKard rates apply! It is a excellent restaurant with an awesome view.

The only negative thing was that the pool was not heated as advertised.

I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarschot, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We only stayed one night here, but enjoyed the comfortable hotel and its environment.
The spacious room had a nice view over the bay. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was up to the standards of what can be expected.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

A good, clean well-situated hotel.
Breakfast (included) was excellent, and some very good restaurants within 200 metres.
Would recommend 34deg. and Drydock.
If I was in Knysana again would certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

After a rather disastrous experience at our previous hotel in Port Elizabeth we held our breath walking into the Protea Hotel. I had doubts about staying at a chain establishment but soon forgot about this once we walked into our room. Very spacious - 2 big queen size beds, airconditioning that worked so well it was like a freezer (welcomed by us at this stage), seating area, and a lovely view out the window of the Quays, water and mountains. It was truly a breath of fresh air. Great location - lovely restaurants nearby. Located right next to the shops that feature craft, souvenirs, clothes etc - all great quality, unique style shops. Entertainment around the quays - we had some musicians and singers whilst we were there. Choices of meals from grills to hot dog stall to upmarket restaurants. Also room service is available and great food. Staff were very friendly and helpful all the time. There is free internet service too. Pool is good and plenty of seats for people without all the hassles in most large resorts. The restaurant only serves the breakfast so you will need to go out, but everything is very close walk through the shopping arcade, which is really worth looking at anyway. Car park can be tricky depending on how full it is, you do have to pay but well worth it for security reasons. 'A lovely place Knysna and a very relaxing stress free hotel with staff who want to help you.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
6.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Marriott, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing